Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mortiis: Some Kind of Heroin - The Grudge Remixes

Some Kind of Herion: The Grudge Remixes is an interesting compilation, even by Mortiis' standards. At nearly eighty minutes, this CD features a set of re-interpretations and re-workings of material from the band's 2004 studio album, Grudge. It is mind-boggling how much the former Emperor bassist has expanded on his newfound style. And what's more is he has actually managed to put together an almost completely new album derived from already existing songs.

There is a good dose of contribution from outsiders here. Members from The Kovenant, PIG, Girls Under Glass, and Funky Vogt appear on various songs, and help restructure different incarnations of the songs' studio versions, ranging from bleak, beat-driven cuts to more synth-friendly pop pieces and filmic material. The Zombie Girl Remix of "Underdog" is a murky song, defined by infinite number of layers, classic rock-based clean choruses, symphonic keyboard swells and ever-present electronic beats. "The Grudge", on the other hand, sees Mortiis dabbling with electronics on a deeper level, enriching it with non-tonal guitar distortion, barely audible symphonic lines, and poppy female vocals echoing in the background. "Twist the Knife" is a straightahead electronic song based on steady beats with little to no variation imposed. The darker side of Mortiis comes through on songs like "Broken Skin", featuring Stephan Groth, with its menacing intro morphing into a crazy Euro-disco offering boasting interesting vocal arrangements.

The Metal Siege mix of "The Grudge" is different from the Gothminister mix in every way. This one is a lot more polished, generated entirely through keyboard effects and simple beats, though the Gothminister version is a lot more varied and interesting. "Way Too Wicked", graced by The Kovenant, proceeds in a similar vein, except that it also contains some crunching guitar crecsendo distilled into it. Another version of "The Grudge", by David Wallace this time, is much more compact and features a two-note guitar rhythm drone for over two minutes with nothing else to speak of.

Needless to say, Mortiis fans who enjoy the Grudge album and are interested in listening to his new takes on these songs with an array of guest artists are advised to give this disc a listen. The average black metal listener, however, should approach this with caution.

Track Listing

  1. Underdog (Zombie Girl Remix)
  2. The Grudge (Gothminister Mix)
  3. Twist tThe Knife Gibbering (Implant Mix)
  4. Broken Skin (Septic Wound/Xp8 Mix) (Ft Stephan Groth)
  5. The Grudge (Mental Siege Mix)
  6. Gibber (Pig Remix) (Ft Stephan Groth)
  7. Way Too Wicked (Rape Dope American Way/Kovenant Mix)
  8. Gibber (Lysergic Club/Velvet Acid Christ Mix)
  9. Worst in Me (Girls Under Class Remix)
  10. Worst in Me
  11. The Grudge (David Wallace Remix)
  12. Broken Skin (Funker Vogt Remix)
  13. The Grudge
  14. The Grudge (Emotional Heresy/Kubrick)
  15. Decadent & Desperate (Theraf**K/Dope Stars Remix)
  16. Gibber (Gibbering Idiot)
  17. Way Too Wicked (Absinthium Mix)
  18. Worst in Me (Extraction /In The Nursery Mix)

Added: June 6th 2007
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: Earache Records
Hits: 2502
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by