Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blue Oyster Cult: Some Enchanged Evening-Legacy Edition (remaster)

As SONY makes their way through the Blue Oyster Cult discography, the latest getting the remastered treatment is the band's second live album Some Enchanted Evening, now finally beefed up to what was originally intended to be a full shows worth of material. This new "Legacy Edition" contains the entire show that was played on that tour, with the songs recorded at various cities on the 1978 tour. The sound quality is superb, and you can now hear classics like "ME 262", "Harvester of Eyes", and "Hot Rails to Hell", and others, among tunes like "R.U. Ready 2 Rock", "Astronomy" and "Godzilla", songs that made up the strong but otherwise too short original version of Some Enchanted Evening. It all adds up to prime BOC at the height of their powers, and while most in the past were probably in agreement that On Your Feet or On Your Knees and Extraterrestrial Live might be better overall live albums, that might not be the case anymore with this new expanded edition. To add even more value here, a 60 minute live DVD is also included from a show in Maryland from the same 1978 tour, with basically the same set list, curiously missing the band's two most popular songs, "Godzilla" and "Don't Fear the Reaper". The quality of the video footage fair, as is the sound, and the camera work is pro-shot, but it will be a fun watch for longtime BOC fans. Seeing Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser launch into the heavens with his incredible guitar solo during the amazing "Astronomy" is worth the price of admission alone.

There you have it, 80 minutes of live audio, and 60 minutes of classic video, from one of heavy rocks longest running institutions. The packaging for this set is a lavish digipack, loaded with live photographs from the tour and info on where each song was recorded, as well as an essay by Lenny Kaye about the tour and the album. Hopefully Cultosaurus Erectus is next up on the remaster schedule.

Track Listing
1. R.U. Ready 2 Rock
2. E.T.I. (Extra Terrestrial Intelligence)
3. Astronomy
4. Kick Out The Jams
5. Godzilla
6. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
7. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place
8. Me 262
9. Harvester Of Eyes
10. Hot Rails To Hell
11. (This Ain't The) Summer Of Love
12. 5 Guitars
13. Born To Be Wild
14. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place

Added: June 2nd 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Blue Oyster Cult Website
Hits: 2176
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by