Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Frontside: ...for ours is the kingdom, the power and glory...

Polish metal band Frontside return with their latest release, ...for ours is the kingdom, the power and glory… Interesting on this release, the album, or CD rather, is produced in both Polish and English. The CD booklet is in both languages, and the tracks are repeated twice on the CD, once in Polish and once in English. Well, almost. The tracks are repeated to a degree, but not exactly as the first set of tracks. It's all rather confusing.

Frontside are described as a Metalcore band and have achieved critical acclaim in their homeland. While there is some Metalcore influence there is also a lot of straight up thrash, death, and hardcore here. The problem with this collection of songs is that there really isn't a whole lot of originality to speak of. The opening track "Intro=Choas" leaves one wondering what these guys were thinking when they recorded it, and who was producing it. It starts off with a direct rip off of "Raining Blood", and then right onto "Angel of Death" they go. Then the band moves right into Brooklyn New York as Biohazard seems to have morphed into this Polish band. The rest of the album is much the same. This band garnered critical acclaim in Poland; I'd like to know from whom? I guess people who hand out accolades in Poland don't really hear much other music. It isn't like there are some parts to this album that remind the listener of other bands, they seem to BE the parts by other bands. But hey, fans of Slayer, Biohazard, and Sepultura, among others, may enjoy the album. There are some original moments that do have some life to them but overall it's hard to get over all the rehashed and mangled pillaging of other people's artistic vision. There are probably five hundred, no wait, probably one thousand albums, of any genre of metal that you'd be better off spending your hard earned money on.

Track Listing
1 Intro = Chaos
2 Modlitma
3 Dtuga Droga Z Piekta
4 Sgnowie Ognia
5 1902
6 Krew Za Krew
7 Kulminacja
8 Judasz
9 Wiezg
10 Zagubione
11 Busze
12 Linia Incia
13 Intro=Choas
14 Prayer
15 Long Man from Hell
16 Sons of Fire
17 Blood for Blood
18 Culmination
19 Judas
20 Bonds
21 Lost Souls
22 Lifeline

Added: May 31st 2007
Reviewer: Ken Sanford
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2307
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by