Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Linkin Park: Minutes To Midnight

Linkin Park didn't survive the death of rap metal because it held tenaciously to its considerable grasp on fame and fortune. Instead, it survived because it's always been a smart band, something this collection of sonic vignettes reveals. Each of the tracks retains a distinct character, whether the uncompromising ear blisters of the opening "Wake," the Fall Out Boy-esque balladry of "Given Up," or the rhymin' and illin' of "Hands Held High" and the attitudinal mellow rock of "What I've Done."

Sure, there's a lot of pained whispering, clichés that sound like revelations in the vocal chords of Chester Bennington and a whole lot of nods to the body-littered landscape of radio but Linkin Park is now––and has long been––a band with heaviness in its pocket and the soothing smiles of a pop band on its sleeve. There's nothing wrong with that and very little wrong, by the way, with Minutes To Midnight.

Track Listing
1. Wake
2. Given Up
3. Leave Out All The Rest
4. Bleed It Out
5. Shadow Of The Day
6. What I've Done
7. Hands Held High
8. No More Sorrow
9. Valentine's Day
10. In Between
11. In Pieces
12. The Little Things You Give Away

Added: May 23rd 2007
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: Linkin Park Website
Hits: 2442
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by