Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Karfagen: The Space Between Us

Karfagen have worked pretty quickly to put together The Space Between Us, their follow-up to 2006's Continium. Led by Ukrainian keyboard player Antony Kalugin, the band picks up exactly where they left off on the previous CD, offering up 16 tracks of mostly instrumental progressive rock and jazz that will remind you of Camel's lighter fare mixed with some modern fusion. At the forefront always are the tasty keyboard textures and melodies from Kalugin, who utilizes various synths and piano to great effect. There are a few guitar players who contribute to the CD, offering a wide variety of styles, like the almost metallic riffs of "The Other Side", or the smooth George Benson-ish lines heard on "Temple of Light". Kalugin is really a talented player, but you can best appreciate his keyboard skills on a track like "Labyrinth", a real symphonic number that hits all the right proggy buttons. The problem is there's just too many songs and too much material here, leaving the listener with a bit of filler to wade through. Let's hear more of the rollicking Gryphon meets Gentle Giant "Kingfisher and Dragonflies", or the FLower Kings vibe of "Retrofall", and less of bland songs like "Mind Games", "Sky of Couple Colors", and "When the Night Falls".

As you can guess, there's some good material here, but also some pieces that just don't cut the mustard. Still, The Space Between Us is worth hearing for those strong pieces-just be prepared to skip around a bit to get to them.

Track Listing

  1. Entering the Gate
  2. The Great Circus
  3. Temple of Light
  4. The Other Side
  5. Sky of COuple Colors
  6. Masks and Illusions
  7. The Dream Master
  8. Through a Stream of Images(Prestissimo)
  9. The Sculptor
  10. Labyrinth
  11. Let Go
  12. Wonder Valleys
  13. Kingfisher and Dragonflies
  14. Retrofall
  15. Mind Games
  16. The Space Between Us
  17. When the Night Falls
  18. Big Outro

Added: May 16th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Unicorn Digital
Hits: 3041
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by