Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Irepress: Samus Octology

More melodic than Isis, less strange than Neurosis, Irepress has carved out a reputation for making imaginative and progressive music that transcends the tired and ever-devolving post-rock tag. What we have here is a commitment to solid and complex music that begins paving a path for a brighter and more intelligent future. Guitarists Joe DiNapoli and Bret Silverberg call to mind peak-era Steve Howe on "Samus," get all jazzy and trippy on "Pistole" and highly contemplative on "June Ipper." At times their playing recalls that of Spirit Of The Stairs/You'll Be A Torso axe expert Torin Andersen (he popped up on the under-heard Theta album a few years back), David Gilmour and Adrian Belew, but each of those guys as if they'd grown up listening to Cannibal Corpse. The rest of the band––bassist Sheel Dave (bass), Shan Dave (drums), Jarret Ring (keys)––holds its own throughout, making Irepress a multi-faceted force to be reckoned with. An early contender for one of the best underground records of the year.

Track Listing 1. Pah No
2. Samus
3. Pistole
4. Snayk's Tale
5. June Ipper
6. Fiddler, Yee Riding
7. A Frid Ohm/B. Martin Eeek
8. Nonografistole Addendum (Trampled To Death By Love)

Added: May 7th 2007
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: Translation Loss Records
Hits: 2372
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by