Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Krypteria: Bloodangel's Cry

Germany's Krypteria have unleashed their debut full-length CD Bloodangel's Cry on Caroline/EMI Music, after a successful EP Evolution Principle and a strong set at last years Wacken Open Air Festival. With plenty of metal muscle to go along with their gothic and symphonic elements, Krypteria have put together a solid release here that's long on tight arrangements and memorable melodies.

The core of the band is Chris Siemons (guitar), Frank Sturmvoll (bass), and S.C. Kuschnerus (drums), who are joined by the stunning Korean singer Ji-In. It's not easy to pin a classification on the music of Krypteria, as they don't really stay in one style for too long on this release, but manage to hit upon many classic metal foundations more often than night. The driving riffs and symphonic colors of "Time To Bring The Pain" push all the power metal buttons, while "Somebody Save Me" is a catchy gothic number featuring emotional vocals from Ji-In soaring over ethereal keyboards and plodding rhythms. Guitarist Siemons gets plenty of room to show off his talents, like the ripping leads of "The Promise", and the intricate wah-wah riffs found all over "Scream". The band likes to also throw in some Gregorian chants on occasion as well, which adds an epic flair to some of these symphonic metal songs, especially thrilling on "Out Of Tears". You have to like the two lengthier pieces for their adventurous and progressive nature, those being "The Night All Angels Cry" and "At The Gates Of Retribution". Each one has plenty of layered vocals, crunchy riffs, tasty electric and acoustic passages, ominous keyboards, and tight, effective rhythms. The latter especially is a real symphonic number that has a very gripping vocal from Ji-In.

I see a world of potential in Krypteria, and it's safe to say that as solid as Bloodangel's Cry, it might only be scratching the surface of what this band might accomplish in the future. For my money, I'd have them drop the gothic influence (do we really need another female fronted gothic metal band?) and focus more on the symphonic prog/power metal style. They are all very able players, and Ji-In seems to have that "it" thing going for her.

Track Listing
1. All Systems Go
2. The Promise
3. Time To Bring The Pain
4. Somebody Save Me
5. Scream
6. Lost
7. Out Of Tears
8. I Can't Breathe
9. The Night All Angels Cry
10. Dream Yourself Far Away
11. Sweet Revenge
12. At The Gates Of Retribution

Added: April 16th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3794
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by