Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Vintersorg: Solens Rotter

Blending traditional Nordic Black Metal with folk and symphonic elements, the latest from Borknagar member Vintersorg, titled Solens Rotter, is a wild and varied ride that should appeal to much more than the extreme metal crowd. Once again with Vintersorg (vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards) and Matthias Marklund (guitars) at the helm, with help from drummer Benny Haglund and bassist Johan Lindgren, plus guests on harp, flute, and violin, the music here on Solens Rotter is upbeat, and quite frankly a lot of fun.

Vintersorg throws every vocal style he has at you on this recording, including his soaring clean voice as well as a raspy black metal shriek and a lower register growl. While the instrumentation is top notch, it's the layering of vocal styles that really makes this album. On "Spirar Och Gror" for example, the clean & growls are matched together, making for a truly majestic statement, almost like some sort of operatic-folk-black metal hybrid, all sung in their native language. Back to the instrumentation, listen to the heavy guitars and symphonic keyboards accompany Vintersorg's lethal growls on "Kosmosaik", broken up briefly by some silky electric and acoustic guitar passages. Fans of Vintersorg's main band Borknagar will love the symphonic black metal of "Naturens Mystar" and " Att Bygga En Ruin", and with the vocals sung in the Norweigan tongue gives these songs a chilling effect. Mellotron choirs, violin, and lush acoustic guitars permeate the folky majesty of "Strålar", and the closing instrumental "Vad Aftonvindens Andning Viskar" is a journey into Nordik prog-rock, with flutes, acoustic guitars, and huge Mellotron soundscapes.

Solens Rotter will be an enjoyable find for many who have yet to discover this talented musician/singer, and those into acts such as Borknagar, Dimmu Borgir, Finntroll, or Korpiklaani will certainly love the mix of black metal, folk, and prog rock styles here.

Track Listing
1. Döpt I En Jökelsjö 05:25
2. Perfektionisten 04:17
3. Spirar Och Gror 06:32
4. Kosmosaik 05:31
5. Idétemplet 04:52
6. Naturens Mystar 05:00
7. Att Bygga En Ruin 05:29
8. Strålar 05:10
9. Från Materia Till Ande 05:48
10. Vad Aftonvindens Andning Viskar 04:49

Added: April 14th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Vintersorg Website
Hits: 4707
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by