Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hidden Hand, The: The Resurrection of Whiskey Foote

On their third full-length release, Maryland's The Hidden Hand comes as close as you can probably get to claiming the current throne as "best throwback to the early 70's Black Sabbath sound" as you can get. The fact that The Hidden Hand is led by former Saint Vitus/The Obsessed/Spirit Caravan vocalist/guitarist Scoot "Wino" Weinrich obviously gives the band a distinct advantage. The Resurrection of Whiskey Foote is littered with crunchy doom/stoner grooves brought upon by Wino's beefy guitar dirges and the pounding rhythms of bassist Bruce Falkinburgh and drummer Evan Tanner.

There's just one nasty, fuzz-drenched corker after another here, which makes this CD just a pleasure for stoner rock fans. "Someday Soon" and "Dark Horizons" feature plenty of distorted bass lines and Wino's "Iommi-esque" riffs, while "Spiritually Bereft" also has a bluesy feel to go along with the doom laden arrangements. The shuffling stomp of "Lesson" sees the trio kicking it into overdrive, bringing images of classic Sabbath as well as Soundgarden, complete with booming fuzz-bass (and a neat solo from Falkinburgh), crushing power chords, and brutal drum fills. On the bottom heavy "Majestic Presence", they bring in a little funk to their metallic mix, and the title track is just a killer slice of psychedelic metal, with some of Wino's best vocals on the album. For sheer Sabbathian sludge, check out the monstrous "Broke Dog", a brutal doom romp, which leads into the death-march of "Slow Rain", the slowest piece on the album that recalls Wino's previous band Saint Vitus. This one also contains a complex mid-section with some intricate guitar & bass passages that almost cross over into prog rock territory.

The Resurrection of Whiskey Foote is an exceptional release from The Hidden Hand that mixes 70's hard rock, doom, stoner, and psychedelia, yet keeps things sounding fresh and modern. If you've already grooved to Mother Teacher Destroyer and Devine Propaganda, chances are you will be all over this latest release. Newbies dig in and experience what The Hidden Hand are all about.

Track Listing
1. Purple Neon Dream
2. Someday Soon
3. Dark Horizons
4. Spiritually Bereft
5. Lesson
6. Majestic Presence
7. Resurrection of Whiskey Foote
8. Lightning Hill
9. Broke Dog
10. Slow Rain

Added: April 3rd 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: The Hidden Hand's My Space Page
Hits: 2829
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by