Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Santana, Carlos, & Wayne Shorter: Live at the 1988 Monreux Jazz Festival (DVD)

This meeting of Santana and Wayne Shorter at the 1988 Montreux Jazz Festival is like a dream come true for rock and jazz fans, and always seemed like something that had to inevitably happen. The music of Santana, Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, and Weather Report always seemed somewhat connected, and although Carlos and Wayne's collaboration was brief, and least we have this hot DVD set that forever captures this magical time. This set was one of near 30 concerts that the two played together across the world that year, and it's a real stunner from start to finish.

Basically, the line-up is a blending of both bands, with Carlos bringing over keyboardist Chester Thompson, Armando Peraza on congas, Jose Chetipo Areas on timbales, and drummer Leon "Ndugu" Chancler on drums, and Wayne coming over with ace keyboard wiz Patrice Rushen and bassist Alphonso Johnson. The rhythm section provides plenty of jazz & latin rhythms for the two soloists to fly over, and the two keyboard players add in tons of color throughout. Rushen especially wows during "Once It's Gotcha", when she comes to the front of the stage with her "key-tar" and trades solos with Santana. The magic of hearing Carlos and Wayne mixing thier fiery guitar and sax solos & melodies on classic tunes like "Europa", "Sanctuary", "Blues for Salvador", 'Spiritual", "Elegant People", and "Madela" is a real treat, and when the band brings out scorchers like "Deeper, Dig Deeper" (complete with nasty wah-wah guitar licks from Santana) and "Incident at Neshabur", they really rock out hard.

The best of jazz and Latin-tinged rock are here, brought to you by two of the most legendary players in their respective genres. Carlos Santana has always been at the forefront of rock/jazz/blues guitar, and Wayne Shorter has been one of the most respected sax players in jazz history. Watch this DVD and see what happens when two legends come together.

Track Listing

  1. Spiritual
  2. Peraza
  3. Shhh
  4. Incident at Neshabur
  5. Elegant People
  6. Goodness & Mercy
  7. Sanctuary
  8. For Those Who Chant
  9. Blues for Salvador
  10. Fireball 2000
  11. Ballroom in the Sky
  12. Once It's Gotcha
  13. Mandela
  14. Deeper, Dig Deeper
  15. Europa
  16. Interviews with Carlos Santana, Wayne Shorter, and Claude Nobs

Added: April 1st 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Image Entertainment
Hits: 2504
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by