Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Realm: Suiciety (remaster)

Realm's sophomore release Suiciety is fairly similar to their debut Endless War, that being a very busy form of technical and somewhat progressive 80's thrash album. Filled with a non-stop assault of slashing guitars, tight rhythms, and over-the-top high pitched vocals, Suiciety sounds a bit more refined than the band's debut, and perhaps eases up a tad on the technical aspect, but still remains to this day an overlooked thrash gem from the 1980's metal scene. Thanks to Metal Mind Productions, who in conjunction with Roadrunner Records are remastering and reissuing a slew of long forgotten classics from the era. How sad would it be if tunes like "Knee Deep in Blood", with its gurgling bass lines and wild guitar excursions, or the rampaging melodic thrash masterpiece "Cain Rose Up (Scream Bloody Murder)", vanished into the vaults forever?

Despite many positive points to this album, the stunning & very progressive bass playing of Steve Post and the killer guitar texterity of both Takis Kinis & Paul Laganowski being a few, you can pretty much tell why Realm never really broke big as did many of their peers. For one, the music was perhaps a bit too busy and complex for their own good (not that us technical metal nuts mind that these days!)-check out the great title track for a perfect example of this mentality and performance. In 1990 things were changing drastically on the heavy rock scene, and wild and heavy material like this was not what was selling. In addition, Mark Antoni's vocals were probably an acquired taste for some, as he opted not for the lower register growl or monotone depressed delivery of many of the popular acts of the time, but a very high pitched shriek more in line with John Arch, Ray Alder, or Rob Halford.

Prog-heads will love the bonus cover of King Crimson's "One More Red Nightmare", which honestly probably showed where Realm's true influences came from. So enjoy Suiciety for what it is, an album that was pretty much ahead of its time. If these guys ever had thoughts of getting back together, now would be the time, as they could take their old style and expand on it utilizing the technology and trends that are available today.

Track Listing
1. Rise
2. Cain Rose Up (Scream Bloody Murder)
3. Fragile Earth
4. Energetic Discontent
5. Gateway
6. Final Solution
7. Brainchild
8. Flamme's Theory
9. Dick
10. Knee Deep in Blood
11. Suiciety
12. One More Red Nightmare-bonus track

Added: March 14th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 3544
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by