Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Maiden: Rock in Rio (DVD)

This one will send chills up and down your spine folks...the immortal Iron Maiden, back together again with lead singer Bruce Dickinson and guitarist Adrian Smith in 2001, and hot on the heels of their excellent release Brave New World. In front of 250,000 screaming and exhuberant fans in Rio de Janiero, Rock in Rio is a killer 2hour set from one of metal's most beloved bands, heavy on songs from the then new album Brave New World as well as plenty of classics, complete with sterling sound and spot-on camera work, what was then Maiden's first live DVD of the new era still holds up today as one of their best.

The energy of the crowd really fueled the band on this night, as all six members just seemed to be having a blast and really working thier asses off. It must have been a treat for the Rio crowd to see the "three guitar army" of Dave Murray, Adrian Smith, and Jannick Gers for the first time on stage together, and having Bruce Dickinson back with the band after a long break was icing on the cake. Tunes from the new album, like "The Wicker Man", "Blood Brothers", "Dream of Mirrors" and the title track "Brave New World" came across great live, and the crowd sang along to every verse. But of course, it was the old classics that really got the fans in a frenzy, especially "The Trooper", "Fear of the Dark", "Iron Maiden", "The Number of the Beast", "Hallowed Be They Name", and "Run to the Hills". The crowd screamed along to "2 Minutes to Midnight", and Eddie came out to do battle with Gers on "The Evil That Men Do". One highlight among many is hearing Bruce ripping it up on the powerful "Sign of the Cross", a song the band did during his time apart from them.

To add extra luster to this spectacular concert document is a second DVD of extras, including up close and personal interview footage with each band member on what they like to do in their spare time. It really brings out the human element to hear each musician talk about and show their love for activities like soccer, fencing, flying, fishing, hanging with the locals at Rio, and golf, as well as hearing them explain their musical influences.

A mandatory DVD for Iron Maiden fans-experience the magic.

Track Listing
1) The Wicker Man,
2) Ghost of the Navigator,
3) Brave New World,
4) Wrathchild,
5) 2 Minutes to Midnight,
6) Blood Brothers,
7) Sign of the Cross,
8) The Mercenary,
9) The Trooper,
10) Dream of Mirrors,
11) The Clansman,
12) The Evil That Men Do,
13) Fear of the Dark,
14) Iron Maiden,
15) The Number of the Beast,
16) Hallowed Be Thy Name,
17) Sanctuary,
18) Run to the Hills
Bonus Features-Candid interviews with Steve Harris, Bruce Dickinson, Janick Gers, Dave Murray, Nicko McBrain, and Adrian Smith
A Day in the Life
Ross Halfin photo diary: 56 exclusive photos from Iron Maiden's South American tour with commentary from official photographer Ross Halfin

Added: March 10th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Iron Maiden Website
Hits: 2426
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by