Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Alias Eye: In Focus

When Germany's Alias Eye released their 2nd CD A Different Point of View in 2004, it garnered them some very positive press in part due to the significant step forward in overall sound from their debut Field of Names. With their new offering In Focus the band shifts gears once again, however this time they move ahead by actually scaling things back production wise, opting to concentrate on writing tighter material which is more direct and to the point. Yet they still retain the harder edge that they've become known for. New guitarist Matze Wurm who replaces Mattias Richter seems to have been the primary catalyst for the change in musical direction as he opts to keep his own melodic solos concise and full of emotion. The infusion of new blood seems to have re-energized the whole band and the evidence can clearly be heard in the songs themselves. Vocalist Phillip Griffiths is in absolutely top form throughout as his rich tenor just envelops the songs perfectly, especially when the band takes things down a bit on slower numbers like "Books" and "Hold On". "Rhodesian Rhapsody" is another standout track and one which features a lot of stellar Wurlitzer sounding keyboard work from Vytas Lemke along with didgeridoo being supplied by Griffiths. The gentle final number "How We Perceive", with additional vocals supplied by Anna Sabrina Lopp concludes the album with an appropriate air of reflection. After really spending time with this disc and doing some reflection of my own, the overall tones and feelings of warmth within the music and production itself, in addition to the great musicianship were the things that lingered with me the longest after the music was done.

In Focus is a solid, honest effort from Alias Eye and one gets the feeling that the band is really beginning to hit their stride creatively. If they continue along the same lines musically with their next venture, they will graduate from "a band with a bright future" to one that has already arrived. They are on the cusp of greatness.

Track Listing
1) I'm Your Lie
2) In Denial
3) The Call
4) Enlighten Them
5) Books
6) History Lesson
7) Rhodesian Rhapsody
8) Hold On
9) To Be or Not to Be
10) Falling
11) How We Perceive

Added: March 6th 2007
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Official Website
Hits: 3601
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by