Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Murderdolls: Beyond The Valley Of The Murderdolls (Special Edition)

The Murderdolls are a Horror Rock band that was originally formed by Tripp Eisen (Static-X) and Joey Jordison (Slipknot). They added front man Wednesday 13 to the lineup in 2001 and would release Beyond The Valley Of The Murderdolls in 2002 on Roadrunner Records. The album would also feature Ben Graves and Eric Griffin in the lineup and together the Shock was once again put to the Rock. Musically, The Murderdolls had a very Punk-influenced style that blended with Hard Rock and as result their songs were always quick paced hitters that ran either under or just over the three minute length. Every one of the tracks were done in macabre character fashion that they resembled and held a similar tongue in cheek style to them as they sang of robbing graves, sleeping with the dead or zombies and scream queens. If the listener could sit there and take any of this stuff seriously they were most definitely missing the point of what these guys were all about. They were out to make you shudder but it was also quite humorous at times as you find in "Love At First Fright" or "Dead In Hollywood" which references popular fright flick legends of the past. Of course you probably never thought you would find your foot tapping to a song called "Graverobbing U.S.A." but it is going to happen because this stuff just makes you move. Catchy, quirky and eerily appealing it was an interesting group to find formed from someone who worked industrial Metal havoc like Eisen. Similarly, the Nu-Metal monsters Slipknot's Jordison was pounding the drums on the piece but defiantly holding back what he could really do to the kit. Wednesday 13 himself as a singer is a modern day Alice Cooper of sorts and really gets the bands maniacal point across very well. The Special Edition also features six bonus songs not available on the original release and among this tracks is a sinister version of Billy Idol's "White Wedding" along with the crowd pleasing "I Love To Say F**k". Lyrics are provided for those that dare to read them. This is fun stuff if you like Late-Night Monster Movies, Hard Punk Rock and hooks that will make you lick the blood from your lips.

DVD Bonus: The special edition of this CD also includes a DVD that gives you four videos of the band which surely add to the quirky fun just a little bit more. You get "I Love To Say F**k" (live), "Dead In Hollywood", "Love At First Fright" and "White Wedding". It's that added pizzazz to give you gore for your money….heheh.

Track Listing
1. Slit My Wrist
2. Twist My Sister
3. Dead In Hollywood
4. Love At First Fright
5. People Hate Me
6. She Was A Teenage Zombie
7. Die My Bride
8. Graverobbing U.S.A.
9. 197666
10. Dawn Of The Dead
11. Lets Go To War
12. Dressed To Depress
13. Kill Miss America
14. B-Movie Scream Queen
15. Mother F**ker I Don't Care
16. Crash Crash – bonus
17. Let's F**k - bonus
18. I Take Drugs - bonus
19. White Wedding - bonus
20. Welcome To The Strange - bonus
21. I Love To Say F**k - bonus

Added: February 19th 2007
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1836
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by