Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jorgensen, Espen: On the Great Alkali Plains

On the Great Alkali Plains is the new album from acoustic guitarist Espen Jorgensen. Basically an all-instrumental affair with Jorgensen on acoustic steel string guitar & 11 string harp guitar, Hakon Morch Stene on orchestral percussion, and Terje Isungset on natural percssion, the CD is eight tracks of sometimes lush but always mysterious world-prog-fusion. Images of the late Michael Hedges and even Ralph Towner come to mind when listening to On the Great Alkali Plains, as the lulling, classically inspired arrangements sweep you away into never-never land. Jorgensen's technique is stunning, and despite your penchant for sparse arrangements, it's hard not to be sold on his skills as a musician and composer. Songs like "Farbror Melkers bekymring" and "Move Ahead-Quickly" have an intriguing folky quality, as the guitarists whisps around the fretboard crafting one cunning passage after another. Overall, it's not the most exciting release you will ever hear, but you can't help being moved by the beauty of it all.

Track Listing
01. The immaculate conception
02. Move ahead - quickly
03. Mirabell
04. Down from the high peak
05. Barren
06. The woods
07. Farbror Melkers bekymring
08. Himmelsangen

Added: February 16th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Jester Records
Hits: 2595
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by