Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moossa: Step Right Up

Here's another CD that fits into that "if it's good, who cares about the genre?" category. Moossa's Step Right Up offers a rare blend of roots, honky-tonk, alternative, reggae and classic rock. "Little Bit Higher" channels Bob Marley and "It's True" echoes the Violent Femmes, while "Rock Down Steady" boasts a Stones-y swagger and "Dream" could pass for an old Son Volt tune. Fronted by vocalist, acoustic guitarist and keyboardist John Moossa, this Virginia-based multicultural outfit makes music perfect for a hot summer afternoon when you have nothing more pressing to do than soak up the sun and kick back with the tunes. At 66 minutes, Step Right Up might try the patience of some listeners frustrated with the quartet's lack of focus. But I'd rather listen to 66 minutes of this than 66 minutes of alternate variations on the same theme.

Track Listing:
1) Slack Like Me
2) Little Bit Higher
3) Tollbooth
4) 11 & 5/8
5) Dream
6) Shut Down
7) It's True
8) Stephanie
9) Rebel Music
10) Rock Down Steady
11) Gypsy Queen
12) Lay Me Down
13) It Isn't Me
14) Hard Times
15) Rambling Oklahoma Blues
16) Mistake of Chance

Added: February 12th 2007
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Moossa Web Site
Hits: 2534
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by