Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Obituary: Frozen Alive (DVD)

The "ultimate" Obituary DVD has finally arrived in the form of Frozen Alive, a packed-to-the-gills two hour plus set comprised of a full concert recorded in August of 2006 in Warsaw, Poland, plenty of band interviews, mjusic videos, and plenty of other goodies. Obituary has long been one of the most popular of the early 90's Florida death metal bands. After the band packed it in for a few years in the late 90's, they reunited in 2005 and released Frozen In Time, a welcome return to the sounds they made famous on albums like Cause of Death and Slowly We Rot a decade before. After much touring in support of the album, the band made their way to Poland's Stodola Club and played a fantastic set of old and newer material in front of a rabid crowd. The set list is a dream for Obituary fans, 23 songs in all, featuring such favorites as "Internal Bleeding", "Kill For Me", "Redneck Stomp", "Slowly We Rot", "Slow Death", and many others. Vocalist John Tardy looms large at the head of the stage througout the set, spewing out his unique mix of barks and growls (which are actually closer to hardcore than death metal), while guitarists Allen West and Trevor Peres slay the audience with plenty of stomping riffs and frenzied solos. Obituary have always been known for churning out shorter songs than most of the death metal brethren, mostly in the 3 minute range, and mix it up pretty well between speedy thrashers and slower, heavier dirges that hint at a little bit of doom.

There are two sets of interviews, one with John and Trevor Tardy, and the other with Frank Watkins and Trevor Peres. Each one sees the band members talking about their career together, their life in and away from metal, the reformation, tour, influences, and the mtal scene in general. At the end of the day, Obituary are a veteran band who are basically just a normal bunch of guys who just so happened to have influenced legions of up and coming death metal bands.

Frozen Alive is essential viewing for any Obituary or old school death metal fan.

Track Listing
01. Intro: Rain
02. Redneck Stomp
03. On The Floor
04. Insane
05. Chopped In Half
06. Turned Inside Out
07. Dying
08. Intro
09. Internal Bleeding
10. Back To One
11. Find The Arise
12. Back Inside
13. Threatening Skies
14. By The Light
15. Intro
16. Kill For Me
17. Solid State
18. Stand Alone
19. Back From The Dead
20. Drum Solo
21. Lockjaw
22. Slow Death
23. 'Til Death
24. Slowly We Rot

Added: February 7th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Obituary Website
Hits: 2617
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by