Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Catamenia: Bringing the Cold to Poland (DVD)

Also recorded on August the 24th of 2006 in Warsaw, Poland (as were the new DVD's from Grave, Obituary, and Sinister, meaning it was probably a festival)this new release from Metal Mind Productions features Finnish Black metal band Catamenia. Bringing the Cold to Poland includes the bands full set, plus some bonus material that sees Catamenia fooling around the studio, drunk at bars and at a barbecue, the normal behind the scenes stuff. In addition there's a video clip of "Tuhat Vuotta", audio tracks, biography, discography, and an interview. Don't worry if you can't speak in the native tongue of Finland, as there's subtitles available here.

The main concert set from Warsaw is very well done, and even if you are not familiar with the music of Catamenia, if you like symphonic Finnish black metal you might want to give this a try. Pulling material from their entire discography, you get a nice cross section of songs from throughout their brief history, plus two cover songs, WASP's "I Wanna Be Somebody" and Satyricon's "Fuel For Hatred", both done pretty well in Catamenia's own style. This band has released seven CD's since bursting on the scene in the late 90's, so they had plenty of material to chose from for this live date, and they squeeze in ten of their own songs here that make up a good cross section of their recorded work. The band features two lead vocalists (one for the black/death metal screechings, and one for the more cleaner & melodic passages), two guitarists, a keyboard player, a drummer, and bass player, plus most of the band sings backing vocals, so they look like a large ensemble on stage and have a very full sound. Their sound is rooted in Norwegian black metal with lots of tremelo picked guitars, blast beats, and symphonic keyboards, but some Finnish death metal creeps into their sound from time to time as well.

Bringing the Cold to Poland is definitely a solid DVD for Catamenia fans, as it contains a great live set and some fun bonus features that will be a must see for those who have followed the band.

Track Listing
01. Morning Crimson
02. Lost In Bitterness
03. Tuhat Vuotta
04. My Blood Stained Path
05. Coldbound
06. Fuel For Hatred [Satyricon cover]
07. Verikansa
08. Closed Gates Of Hope
09. The Day When The Sun Faded Away
10. Eskhata
11. I Wanna Be Somebody [W.A.S.P. cover]
12. Location:COLD

Bonus Features
- Animated Menus
- Biography
- Discography
- Web Links
- Interview
- Cataventures Part 1 & 2
- Tuhat Vuotta Promo Video
- Audio Tracks from both Demos
- Desktop Images
- Photo Gallery
- 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound

Added: February 7th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2092
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by