Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Death Before Disco: Barricades

The first three tracks on Belgian band Death Before Disco's latest CD Barricades didn't really make that much of an impression on this listener, that is until the fourth number "Jaguar" rolled around. There's nothing particularly wrong with those 3 tracks, however it appeared that Barricades was heading down the typical sounding hardcore/ metal avenue. Then "Jaguar" entered the picture with it's rousing drum intro courtesy of Ace Zec. Over the course of eight and half minutes, you're treated to the short, melodic tradeoff solos from guitarists Frederik De Moor and Birger Finaut along with varying tempo changes and the powerful vocal delivery of Ioan Kaes. This track features some dynamic and adventurous musical interplay and a nice down tempo middle section. The band continues to build on the momentum with their next song "Goodbye" which begins with a gentle piano section before exploding into a power chord driven orgy of a chorus. This song is the perfect balance of aggression and calmness all rolled into one. This song and the aforementioned "Jaguar" are the highlights on this disc. Unfortunately the rest of the songs sink bank into the same formula as the earlier tracks and the momentum is lost somewhat. The CD's final track "Set The Minutes" redeems the situation somewhat and finds the band varying things sonically a bit more, finishing the disc on a high. I think Death Before Disco have a lot of potential and if they continue to forge new ground like they've done on the 3 songs mentioned then their future should be bright. Otherwise they risk ending up being just another of the countless, faceless bands out there that are attempting to meld metal and hardcore but aren't really bringing much in the way of originality to the table.

Track Listing
1) Etireno
2) Barricades of Rumble
3) Full Metal Jacket
4) Jaguar
5) Goodbye
6) Pyramids on Mars
7) Matchstick Girl
8) Kill The Dancer
9) Modern Times
10) Set The Minutes

Added: February 4th 2007
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Lifeforce Records
Hits: 2026
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by