Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Disincarnate: Dreams of the Carrion Kind (remaster)

Guitarist James Murphy took what he learned in bands such as Death, Cancer, and Obituary, and applied it to his own group called Disincarnate, who released their debut album on Roadrunner Records in 1993. Joining Murphy were Bryan Cegon (vocals), Jason Carman (rhythm guitar), and Tommy Viator (drums). Very much rooted in old school death metal (specifically the Florida scene which spawned Death, Obituary, Deicide, etc.) Dreams of the Carrion Kind also sports a very technical edge, no doubt due to the virtuoso skills of guitar legend Murphy, whose massive riffs and cutting edge solos permeate this entire album.

The blending of brutality and melody is the main reason that Dreams of the Carrion Kind works so well, and it's one of death metal's tragedy's that this album never fully got its due. Bone crunching pieces like "Stench of Paradise Burning", "Monarch Of The Sleeping Marches", and "Soul Erosion" just drip with massive heaviness, whether it comes from Cegon's inhuman growls, Murphy & Carman's menacing riffs, or the sledgehammer drum blasts from Viator. Other highlights in an album full of them is the crunch-n-roll of "Entranced" (gotta love Murphy's trademark pinch harmonics on this one, as well as on "Confine of Shadows"), and the grinding death powerhouse "Sea of Tears". Plus, the band saved the most adventurous song for last, the progressive instrumental "Immemorial Dream", complete with lovely classical guitar, keyboards, and brooding riffs.

A follow-up to Dreams of the Carrion Kind never materialized, as a few of the members went off to college or old jobs, leaving Murphy with no band. The guitar wizard was also derailed in the late 90's from a pituitary gland tumor, which required an operation that removed most of the tumor, but leaving him to take medication for the rest of his life to control the growth. Rumor has it that James has an interest in putting together Disincarnate once again at some point, so hopefully a long awaited sequel will happen. In the meantime, enjoy this reissue from Metal Mind Productions, which sports full lyrics, bio and interviews, artwork, photographs, and killer sound.

Track Listing

  1. De Profundus
  2. Stench Of Paradise Burning
  3. In Sufferance
  4. Beyond The Flesh
  5. Monarch Of The Sleeping Marches
  6. Soul Erosion
  7. Entranced
  8. Confine Of Shadows
  9. Deadspawn
  10. Sea Of Tears
  11. Immemorial Dream
  12. Stench of Paradise Burning-bonus demo track
  13. Soul Erosion-bonus demo track
  14. Confine Of Shadows -bonus demo track

Added: January 28th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 3758
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» Reader Comments:

Disincarnate: Dreams of the Carrion Kind (remaster)
Posted by Hugh Dark on 2007-02-03 07:28:36
My Score:

This release just isn't necessary. I mean, you can walk into any Best Buy and find the Roadrunner remaster sitting there. The only differences are that the mastering will be worse and this "version" harder to find because Metal Mind has no distribution reach.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by