Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Heathen: Victims of Deception (remaster)

I've always felt that Heathen were one of the most overlooked and underrated bands of the 80's Bay Area thrash scene. 1987's Breaking the Silence was a blistering release of precision riffing, blinding solos, and strong vocals, and the band upped the ante on 1991's Victim of Deception, here getting the royal remaster treatment from Poland's Metal Mind Productions. Heathen could hand out the speedy & crunchy riff-o-rama just as good as Testament, Exodus, Megadeth, and Metallica back in the day, and if you don't believe me, just give this sucker a spin.

Kicking off with "Hypnotized", the boys get right down to business, with the massive guitar riffs of Doug Piercy and Lee Atlus adding plenty of crunch while David White Godfrey's soaring clean vocals add the perfect amount of melody. In a way, Heathen's music is somewhat a cross between Testament's wall of guitar thunder and the accessibility and mosh mentality of Anthrax, evident in songs like :Opiate of the Masses", "Fear of the Unknown", and "Morbid Curiosity". However, there's also another side to the band, which you can hear on the progressive and atmospheric anthem "Heathen's Song", or the remake of the Rainbow classic "Kill the King", which shows just how melodic these guys could get but still be heavy as hell. There's even a neat instrumental called "Guitarmony" which sees Piercy and Atlus really ripping it up and creating lots of, ahem, "harmony guitar" magic. If your passion though is brutal pedal to the metal thrash, look no further than "Mercy Is No Virtue", perhaps the most furious piece on the album complete with raging rhythms, pummeling riffs, and Godfrey's snarling vocals.

Encased in a gorgeous digipack with full lyrics, band history, and photos, this great sounding remaster of a solid metal album is a must have if you have any appreciation of the San Francisco thrash scene of the 80's and early 90's.

Track Listing
1. Hypnotized
2. Opiate Of The Masses
3. Heathen's Song
4. Kill The King
5. Fear Of The Unknown
6. Prisoners Of Fate
7. Morbid Curiosity
8. Guitarmony (Instrumental)
9. Mercy Is No Virtue
10. Timeless Cell Of Prophecy
11. Hellbound (Bonus Track)

Added: January 8th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 3985
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by