Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Negative Reaction: Under The Ancient Penalty

New York masters of doom Negative Reaction once again bring us their unique mix of sludge and hardcore on their latest disc Under The Ancient Penalty. Longtime fixtures on the NYC scene, this trio delivers a potent, dropped tuned, industrial sludge fest over the course of 8 mind numbing tracks. The rhythm section of drummer John Old McDonald and bassist OD is harder than concrete and together they provide the perfect foundation for vocalist and guitarist Ken E Bones, who when not peeling layers of his throat with his scream till I'm hoarse delivery, is carving up layers of riffs on an industrial scale on the guitar. Lyrically the CD is depressing as hell as the slow to mid pace tempos fit the doom and gloom flawlessly. Flat out this is 50 minutes of pure, concrete sludge and if you like your music, brutal, raw and uncompromising then Negative Reaction will hit you like a sledgehammer.

Track Listing
1) Lost
2) Loathing
3) Pain
4) Empty
5) Suffer
6) Sorrow
7) Linger
8) Alone

Added: December 26th 2006
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: This Dark Reign Recordings
Hits: 2089
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by