Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Between the Buried and Me: The Silent Circus (reissue)

This re-release of Between the Buried and Me's 2003 release The Silent Circus is a must have for fans of the band, and a good starting point for those who have yet to check out the highly chaotic, complex, and heavy sounds of this band from North Carolina. Drawing from hardcore, metal, progressive rock, and fusion, Between the Buried and Me are pretty hard to classify, and wrongfully are often lumped into the "metalcore" category. At times as technical and progressive as groups like Dream Theater, Zero Hour, and Spiral Architect (check out the insane interplay on tracks like "Lost Perfection" and "Camilla Rhodes"), yet with a twist that will remind you of The Dillinger Escape Plan, the band also mixes the out and out zaniness of Faith No More ("Mordecai") with some Pink Floyd styled spaciness ("Reaction"). However, they can also deliver a stunning acoustic pop song, as they do on "Shevanel Take 2", as well as a brutal mix of crushing death metal & hardcore like on the pummeling "Ad a dglgmut". Fans of intricate metal with a fusion feel with love the insane drum blasts, wild & complex guitar and bass interplay, of "Destructo Spin", a mind-blowing piece littered with raging screams, gutteral growls, and manic arrangements. The stop-start rhythms and fusion guitars of "Aesthetic" are damn impressive, and the slowed down, almost doomy death metal of "The Need For Repetition" is sure to get your blood pumping for the mosh pit. But listen carefully for the hypnotic, almost King Crimson-ish closing segment, with its creepy atmosphere and weaving guitar and bass patterns.

Included with this reissue is a bonus DVD of a show from North Carolina (and a great way to catch the intensity of this band in a live setting), a few music videos, plus an interview. It all makes for a great package, and an early taste of what Between the Buried and Me were capable of, which eventually led to their wonderful 2005 release Alaska.

Track Listing
1. Lost Perfection a. Coulrophobia
2. Lost Perfection b. Anablephobia
3. Camilla Rhodes
4. Mordecai
5. Reaction
6. Shevanel Take 2
7. Ad a dglgmut
8. Destructo Spin
9. Aesthetic
10. The Need For Repetition
11. Lost Perfection a. Coulrophobia [DVD]
12. Lost Perfection b. Anablephobia [DVD]
13. Destructo Spin [DVD]
14. Roboturner [DVD]
15. All Bodies [DVD]
16. Mordecai [DVD]
17. Alaska [DVD]
18. Metal Injection Interview [DVD]
19. Mordecai - Music Video [DVD]
20. Alaska - Music Video [DVD]

Added: December 24th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2510
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by