Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cronos: Hell To The Unknown- Anthology (remaster)

After fronting Venom for nine years, lead singer/bassist Conrad Lant aka Cronos would leave the band and start his own project simply called "Cronos". The band would release three albums over their rather short career Dancing In The Fire (1990), Rock & Roll Disease (1991) and Venom (1995). The first two featured completely new original material from the musician while the third release would find him revisit and re-record some Venom classics with his new band. The other two recordings that preceded this would be Metal, but they would not be the exact same fashion that his core fans might have expected of him. The title Anthology is misleading for while it usually refers to a release that has the best of the artist over the span of their catalog, this one instead features all of the music from the three Cronos recordings. This completeness factor makes the album a must have for any discerning Venom or Cronos fan and all of the tracks have been remastered by Cronos himself. The enclosed booklet features extensive liner notes and photos from this point in Lant's career and will most likely bring back memories if you followed the group while it existed. He would reunite with Venom in 1997 and together issue the album Cast In Stone. While it is true that Venom and Cronos were not for everyone they still hold a high place of honor and respect in the Metal Encyclopedia for their efforts and their influence on some of the bands that followed after them. Given these individual CD's are no longer available and long out of print, this is the best way to complete your Venom and Company library. Though not the biggest fan myself, I found this a worthy addition to my music collection.

Track Listing

  1. Cronos: Live Set Intro Tape
  2. In League With Satan
  3. Vampyr
  4. Terrorize
  5. At War With Satan
  6. Dancing In The Fire
  7. Painkiller
  8. Superpower
  9. Fire
  10. Old Enough To Bleed
  11. Don't Burn The Witch
  12. In Nomine Satanas
  13. Speedball
  14. Chinese Whispers
  15. Lost & Found
  16. Gates Of Hell
  17. Bared To The Bone
  18. Love Is Infectious
  19. My Girl
  20. Dirty Trix Dept.
  21. Messages Of War
  22. Aphrodisiac
  23. Fantasia
  24. 1000 Days In Sodom
  25. Rock N' Roll Disease
  26. Sexploitation
  27. Boobytrap
  28. Sweet Savage Sex
  29. Hell To The Unknown
  30. I'll Be Back
  31. Satanachist
  32. Bad Reputation
  33. Midnight Eye
  34. Black Xmas
  35. Calm Before The Storm
  36. Gypsy
  37. Krackin' Up
  38. Muscle
  39. Nothing Sacred
  40. The Chanting Of The Priests

Added: December 19th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Venom Website
Hits: 2897
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by