Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nebbia, Litto: Bazar De Los Milagros (remaster)

The 1976 solo album from Argentinian keyboard virtuoso Little Nebbia, Bazar De Los Milagros (Bazar of Miracles), was pretty much also a joint recording with guitarist/bassist Daniel Homer, with lyrics written and sung by Mirtha Defilipo. While there are a few guest musicians on the album, it's mostly this trio who have composed and performed the bulk of the recording. Nebbia, a very successful solo artist in Argentina as well as an original member of one of the most pioneering rock groups from that country, Los Gatos, brought a wealth of classic keyboards to the table for Bazar De Los Milagros, like Fender Rhodes, acoustic piano, Mini-Moog, organs, and other synths, and also contributed some 12 string guitar, vocals, and drums. The opening title track shows the Fender Rhodes electric piano in all its glory, while the exploratory sounds of the Mini-Moog blasts through the haze of Homer's romantic Spanish guitars on "Bituca", one of the album's most beautiful songs. The introspective "Para Daniel" has a very strong jazz flavor, sprinkled with emotional vocals, Fender Rhodes, and organ, while "Trasentes" plays off the male/female vocals of Nebbia & Defilipo, becoming a catchy pop song with Homer's melodic bass lines & acoustic guitar, plus Nebbia's wide variety of keyboard textures. Traditional Argentinian styles mix with prog on "La Muerte y la Mirada" and "La Caida", two lengthier pieces that contain great vocals and lots of tasty keyboards. The latter features some wild Mini-Moog runs from Nebbia that stab through the layers of electric piano.

There are four bonus tracks here taken from an earlier soundtrack to the Argentine cult movie called Bobeta, ilusion y despertar, featuring Nebbia and a group of different musicians. These tunes fall more into the progressive fusion realm, and are all instrumental. With lead instruments being keyboards, guitar, and trumpet, fans of Frank Zappa's early 70's period will definitely get into these bonus cuts. Viajero Inmovil has done a great job with this remaster, delivering a nice little digipack edition that captures the feel of the original LP, and the sound is great. For a great example of prog, jazz, and pop from Argentina, you can't go wrong here.

Track Listing
1. Bazar De Los Milagros
2. El Nuevo Testamento
3. Bituca
4. Para Daniel
5. Transentes
6. La Muerte Y La Miranda
7. La Caida
8. Reflexiones Sobre La Soledad
9. Tema De Amor -bonus track
10. Tema De Los Titulos -bonus track
11. Tema De Amor (B) -bonus track
12. Tema De Final -bonus track

Added: November 26th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Viajero Inmovil Records
Hits: 1912
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by