Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Piel De Pueblo: Rock de las Heridas (remaster)

Here's a tasty little treat from 1972, Viajero Inmovil's reissue of Piel De Pueblo's Rock de las Heridas, a hard rocking slice of Argentinian psychedelic hard rock. Piel De Pueblo released only this album, as their career was pretty short, but it made a statement upon its release, displaying the considerable talents of guitarist/vocalist Pajarito Zaguri, lead guitarist Nacho Smilari, bassist/vocalist Carlos Calabro, and drummer Willy Pedemonte. These are mostly hard rock songs with a touch of psychedelia and proto-prog sounds, with the band keeping the songs fairly short and to the point, allowing for some tasty riffs and searing solos from Smilari. The one long song, "La Tierra En 998 Pedazos" is 9-minutes of psychedelic jamming, with Smilari's scorching lead break providing plenty of excitement. The tune also features some added piano for effect from bassist Calbro, who also throws in plenty of lead bass work as well. The band sounds like a mix of early Jethro Tull and Cream on the heavy blues rock of "Jugando a las Palabras" (a song that features some white hot wah-wah guitar work), and they brought in Hector Lopez Furst to contribute some electric violin on "Para Tener In Poco Mas" and "El Rockito de la Bufonada", giving these songs a rootsy flavor that will remind you of The Flock, the first band of former Mahavishnu Orchestra/current Dixie Dreg violinist Jerry Goodman. On a few occasions, like on "Sexo Galactico", "La Palida De Nacho" and "Silencio Para Un Pueblo Dormido", the sounds like Argentina's answer to Italy's Alphataurus, who were actually a contemporary of Piel De Pueblo.

If you have any interest at all in early 70's hard rock & proto prog, this is a fun little nugget to check out. With strong Spanish vocals and plenty of ripping guitar work, Rock de las Heridas is a worthy reissue, with a nice digital remaster from Viajero Inmovil. It's a shame this band was never able to record a follow up.

Track Listing
1) Silencio Para Un Pueblo Dormido
2) La Tierra En 998 Pedazos
3) Jugando a las Palabras
4) Para Tener In Poco Mas
5) Sexo Galactico
6) La Palida De Nacho
7) Veni Amigo a la Zapada
8) El Rockito de la Bufonada

Added: November 26th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Viajero Inmovil Records
Hits: 3575
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by