Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Imagin Aria: Progetto T.I.'A

Although clearly influenced by early-era PFM and Banco, Imagine Aria is a modern symphonic progressive outfit with new ideas. The vocals are in that very Italian style, perfectly delivered with an almost operatic sensibility - cementing the link to a style of prog that has always distinguished the band's Italian compatriots.

Progetto T.I.'A. is a concept album with a long, unlikely sci-fi story about global wars and a group that takes off to re-establish humankind on another planet. Even if you bought into the story, you couldn't follow it unless you're able to understand Italian - because all lyrics are sung in that language.

The ensemble includes two guitars and few keyboards - yielding a slightly hard edge to many sections. Bust listen to the second half of "Fusione" - which is a softer piece, scaled-back with soft vocals, appealing guitar work and a wonderfully emotional classically-influenced melody. Probably the stand-out track. Track 8 is called "Il Grande Piano" and doesn't feature a note of piano work. It's all guitar, sounding a little metallic - and like the rest of the album it's quirky and unconventionally stylish as it turns mellow, then regains a heavier, menacing tone with an interesting dual lead-guitar attack. The next song, "Il peso della materia", is the polar opposite - with a pop-like synth beat, lots of electronica, and a soft, spacey layer of keys floating over the top.

About the only criticism is the end of the last song - which has the album closing - apparently - in mid-phrase. A stronger ending would prompt more replays.

Thanks in part to the underlying concept, Progetto T.I.'A. has great cohesion through its 12 mid-length tracks, yet the variety from song to song will keep your interest throughout.


Track listing:
1. S.O. Seji (7:45)
2. Pensiero Simbiotico (6:39)
3. Tela Bianca (3:54)
4. Condivisione emotiva: un boato di silenzio (3:07)
5. Il nostro dolore (3:36)
6. Il volo di Ledeo (4:27)
7. Fusione (8:19)
8. Il grande piano (5:57)
9. Il peso della materia (4:08)
10.Nel nero (3:54)
11.Il popolo dell'acqua (6:04)
12.Anno Zero (4:05)

Added: November 18th 2006
Reviewer: Duncan Glenday
Related Link: The Band's Website
Hits: 2200
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by