Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

69 Eyes, The: Helsinki Vampires (DVD)

Fans of The 69 Eyes can rejoice as the music and video of this great Gothic Hard Rock group is now available thanks to the folks at Cleopatra Records. This DVD was originally released in 2003 from a show recorded in the Tavatasia Club in their native Finland back in 2002. The concert footage performance includes a healthy dose of the bands best tunes up until the time of the filming. Given it's a club appearance the best effects one sees is the dramatic lighting or different camera angles. There is nothing really in the way of outrageous stage setups or designs but you do get a rocking set from "The Helsinki Vampires" back home among their die hard fans and this is never bad for a concert piece. From starting tune to encore lead singer Jyrki 69 is in great form and style as he delivers the music to perfection. He is one of those enigmatic front men that make watching a band all the more fun and along with guitarist Timo Timo and drummer Jussi, he leads the charge of Goth & Roll greatness. While the production is limited to great sound and clear visuals this DVD will impress any who watch it and it's sure to help the bands cause by generating some additional interest in them. Before the deal with Cleopatra Records the only release that has been domestically available was their latest album "Devils". This is a band that rocks and has a very accessible style which has allowed them to build up an audience in parts of the world where finding their music is more often than not a truly difficult undertaking. This DVD also includes all of the bands video clips and several other interesting features guaranteed to please the children of the night.

Bonus Features: Videos for Betty Blue, Dance D'Amour, The Chair, Brandon Lee, Gothic Girl, Wasting The Dawn, Call Me & Mr. Pain. "Beyond The Dawn" director's cuts, "From Russia With Goth" the band in Moscow, Interview With The Vampire & Discography.

Track Listing
  1. Crashing High
  2. Angel On My Shoulder
  3. Forever More
  4. Gothic Girl
  5. Velvet Touch
  6. Don't Turn Your Back On Fear
  7. Stolen Season
  8. Sleeping With Lions
  9. Stolen Season
  10. Sleeping With Lions
  11. Betty Blue
  12. Radical
  13. Still Waters Run Deep
  14. The Chair
  15. Dance D'Amour
  16. Framed In Blood
  17. Stigmata
  18. Brandon Lee

Added: October 24th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: The 69 Eyes Website
Hits: 4418
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by