Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Styx: Gold (remaster)

Styx is a band who many feel were one of the finest of the Progressive Hard Rock outfits ever established and this view finds little argument when you add up the number of hit makers they have in their songbook. Gold has done right by the fans in its issue because unlike a typical greatest hits package that gives you but a sampling, this as an anthology works very well and touches upon a lot more music. While no release can ever capture every single amazing song that a group might have I think that 35 selections is a great start for any fan. As you peruse this particular track listing you do find a representation from some of their most pivotal and respected albums. The band was started in the early 60's under a different name eventually becoming Styx for the release of their first record in 1972. The brothers Panozzo, Dennis DeYoung and James "JY" Young formed the nucleus of what was to become a musical blockbuster. Eventually recruiting Tommy Shaw the band would mix powerful Melodic Arena-styled Rock with elements of Progressive bands of the day. Listen to "Lorelei" on Equinox if you have any doubts on that. The band would find a breakthrough epic in their release The Grand Illusion and lead them to the chart-topping Paradise Theatre. Songs from all of these albums are here to enjoy, even some music from the confusing Kilroy Was Here, an album that essentially caused the end of the band of the time before the reunions with varied memberships would take place in the following years. The line-up changes were not always planned as original drummer John Panozzo would pass away in 1996 while his Brother Chuck would become too ill to handle the rigors of touring. John's death would inspire the moving Shaw-penned track "Dear John", a touching ballad dedicated to the musician that I dare you to not become misty eyed as it plays. Over the course of their career they had released a couple of greatest hits packages to the public but not until this album was it done right. Any die hard Styx fan will find some omissions that will set them off but truly this is one impressive song list. As someone who grew up as a lot of these songs were being brought to life it appealed to me on many different levels. It's a group that did a lot for Concert Rock and showing them appreciation is best served with this release.

Footnote: This CD was originally released in 2004 under the title Come Sail Away: The Styx Anthology.

Track Listing
  1. Best Thing
  2. You Need Love
  3. Lady
  4. Winner Take All
  5. Rock & Roll Feeling
  6. Light Up
  7. Lorelei
  8. Prelude 12
  9. Suite Madam Blue
  10. Shooz
  11. Madamoiselle
  12. Crystal Ball
  13. Grand Illusion
  14. Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)
  15. Come Sail Away
  16. Miss America
  17. Man In The Wilderness
  18. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
  19. Sing For The Day
  20. Renegade
  21. Pieces Of Eight
  22. Lights
  23. Babe
  24. Borrowed Time
  25. Boat On The River
  26. A.D. 1928
  27. Rockin' The Paradise
  28. Too Much Time On My Hands
  29. The Best Of Times
  30. Snowblind
  31. Mr. Roboto
  32. Love Is The Ritual
  33. Show Me The Way
  34. Dear John
  35. One With Everything

Added: October 18th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Styx Website
Hits: 2999
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Styx: Gold (remaster)
Posted by Carlos Canales Vega on 2006-10-18 13:25:51
My Score:

Although more material from Killroy Was Here would have been much apreciated, this is one awesome anthology.The remastered sound will blow you away!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by