Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Delta Nove: The Future Is When

Upon first listen to The Future Is When, the debut CD from California's Delta Nove, the typical Sea of Tranquility reader is bound to flinch. I know I did. This disc is packed with an hour of ska-, reggae- and funk-influenced rock and world music, with occasional spoken-word lyrics that border on rap. "Get On Down" might be a good song to kick off the record for traditional jamband fans and party dudes, but deeper tracks such as the melodic reggae-rocker "Hard Times" and the Santana-esque "Giacomo" better illustrate Delta Nove's musical depth. Nifty horn arrangements and tribal percussion complement the band's distinct sound. Many songs on this 13-track disc won't appeal to the average SoT reader, but those interested in expanding their musical horizons with a diverse platter of international character should check out The Future Is When. (These guys apparently take the music to a whole other level when playing live.)

Track Listing:
1) Get On Down
2) Hard Times
3) Frog n' Toad
4) Calunga
5) Maraca Eu (Maraca Tu)
6) Sighing and Waiting
7) Giacomo
8) Don't Burn the Beans
9) Deception
10) Liberdade
11) Tororo
12) Bongo Bong
13) The Future Is When?

Added: October 18th 2006
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Delta Nove Web Site
Hits: 2145
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by