Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tyr: Ragnarok

By opening their second album, Ragnarok, with a five-minute instrumental creatively called "The Beginning," Viking headbangers Tyr engage in a rousing 60-minute round of Scandinavian mythology complete with Viking warriors, heroic battles and songs called "The Hammer of Thor" and "The Rage of the Skullgaffer." Named after the one-armed god of war and hailing from the windy isles of Faroe (located between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean), the four members of Tyr make music that's in their blood, proudly bursting with gang singing and chanting, militaristic marches, English and native-tongue lyrics, and folksy headbanging. Oddly enough, if you can distance yourself from the Nordic call-to-battle mood this music conjures, a few songs (including "The Hunt") actually sound like some sort of heavy-yet-melodic screamo-emo-punk hybrid you'd hear on any commercial radio station in America. Too bad you never will.

Track Listing:
1) The Beginning
2) The Hammer of Thor
3) Envy
4) Brothers Bane
5) The Burning
6) The Ride to Hel
7) Torsteins Kvaedi
8) Grimur A Midalnesi
9) Wings of Time
10) The Rage of the Skullgaffer
11) The Hunt
12) Victory
13) Lord of Lies
14) Gjallarhornid
15) Ragnarok
16) The End

Added: October 12th 2006
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Tyr Web Site
Hits: 4928
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by