Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Electric Light Orchestra: A New World Record (remaster)

The sixth Electric Light Orchestra album A New World Record proved to be their first multi-platinum album, selling in excess of 5 million copies worldwide. Not only was the album a huge seller, but it really honed in on the direction that ELO would take musically for the rest of their career. Combining uncanny pop hooks with classical orchestrations, A New World Record spawned numerous hit singles and songs that still remain popular with fans to this day. This new remaster package does a great job bringing superior sound to this album, as well as adding some interesting bonus tracks, photos, and commentary from Jeff Lynne.

Who can forget strong songs like "Tightrope", the huge hit "Telephone Line" (complete with Richard Tandy's Moog delivering the telephone ring), or the charged up Chuck Berry-meets-orchestra rock and roll of 'Rockaria!". Jeff Lynne proved that he was a master at writing memorable pop-rock material, so evident on the funky "So Fine" and the endearing "Livin' Thing". Sadly, many of the more progressive leanings that the band had earlier in their career were quickly fading by this time, but this album does contain the dreamy number "Mission ( A World Record)", complete with great violin parts, Tandy's array of keyboards, and Kelly Groucutt's nimble bass lines. "Above the Clouds" is another classical oriented piece, with Lynne's soaring vocals supported by plenty of keyboards and strings, and the band cranks out the hard rock on the remake of The Move's "Do Ya". The album ends on a meditative note with "Shangri-La", an emotional pop song given an atmospheric texture thanks to Tandy's keyboard tones, violin, cello, and Lynne's silky guitar lines.

The bonus tracks are interesting, as you get the previously uinreleased "Surrender", an uptempo rock song with a great chorus, as well as some alternate takes of a few songs, including fun instrumental early mixes of "Tightrope", "So Fine" and "Telephone Line". While perhaps not the classic that Face the Music is, or the full-blown genius of Out of the Blue, A New World Record certainly ranks up there in the top 5 of ELO's discography.

Track Listing
1. Tightrope
2. Telephone Line
3. Rockaria!
4. Mission (A World Record)
5. So Fine
6. Livin' Thing
7. Above The Clouds
8. Do Ya
9. Shangri-La
10. Telephone Line (Different Version)
11. Surrender
12. Tightrope (Instrumental Rough Mix)
13. Above The Clouds (Instrumental Rough Mix)
14. So Fine (Instrumental Rough Mix)
15. Telephone Line (Instrumental)

Added: October 11th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: ELO Website
Hits: 2258
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by