Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

All Shall Perish: The Price of Existence

Oakland's All Shall Perish might have something here with their interesting mix of traditional Death Metal along with Technical Grindcore as it allows a new view to be taken of a format that often has loyal fans on either side but seldom together. The band also shows a great level of musicality not often found in either extreme genre and they base this on their mutual love of bands like Opeth and At The Gates while at the same time enjoying Cannibal Corpse and Hatebreed. As you listen to some of the intricate changes during songs like "We Hold These Truths" you would think drummer Matt Kuykendall a protégé of Cryptopsy's Flo Mounier. He was equally brutal on "The True Beast" and it's evident that the strength in this kind of music falls to the drummer in most cases. The group has a new vocalist in Herman Hermida and he handles both the growls and the shrieks to speaker blowing levels. I had not heard the bands previous release "Hate, Malice, Revenge" so I cannot compare him to his predecessor and only felt that he handles the material they deliver very well. The rest of the ASP lineup falls to Ben Orum (rhythm guitar), Chris Storey (lead guitar), and Mike Tiner (bass) – each of the players coming across as the tightest that the genre has to offer. Clearly this is not everyone's cup of tea but if you enjoy Cryptopsy and find the need for that adrenaline rush level of Metal to get you going, All Shall Perish is a good choice to make. Other album highlights for me were "Wage Slaves" and "Promise" and I gauge this from the amount of head banging I was doing while trying to write this review. Check this one out if you feel yourself slowing down too much.

Track Listing
  1. Eradicator
  2. Wage Slaves
  3. Day Of Justice
  4. There Is No Business To Be Done On A Dead Planet
  5. Better Living Through Catastrophe
  6. Prisoner Of War
  7. Interlude
  8. We Hold These Truths
  9. The True Beast
  10. Promises
  11. The Last Relapse

Added: October 3rd 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: All Shall Perish Website
Hits: 2175
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by