Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hernando, Tony: THIII Live (DVD/CD)

With each new release, Lion Music has proven that it has inherited the mantle formerly held by Shrapnel Records. One of the current guitar heroes, Tony Hernando, has just released a new CD/DVD off the table, THIII Live, which will please fans of the instrumental electric guitar genre. The cover artwork is an eyesore, and the bonuses on the DVD are threadbare, but the music is great. There's only about 50 minutes of material on the DVD, but it is accompanied by a CD which features even more material from GuitarFest 2003 (recorded in Bilbao, Spain) and remixes. Hernando and his backing band (including veteran drummer Mike Terrana) are very good here.

"Into the Black" is an exciting and heavy song with a very catchy melodic line and a particularly intense solo section. "The Edge" features strong use of the bass guitar, and an infectious melody accompanied by the occasional Neal Schon-like bursts of soloing. "Into the Black" contains soloing more along the Yngwie variety. "The Awakening" is an even heavier pleasurable listen. "Crossroads" (featured on the DVD) has a country/southern rock flavor to it. The DVD features a video for "Men and Machines", a seven-minute progressive metal epic with plenty of keyboards. The CD features remixes of the "Beyond the Catwalk" and another particularly fast and catchy song, "Outsiders" (with Vitalij Kuprij). "Time to Believe" is a new song, which was accompanied with vocals - overall, I was dispapointed with this muted and heavy leftover when compared to the virtuosity displayed elsewhere on the discs.

Track Listing
1. Into The Black
2. Duelling Waters
3. Now
4. The Silence Of Loss
5. The Awakening
6. The Edge
7. At The Crossroads
1. The Stalker-Intro (GuitarFest 2005)
2. Now (GuitarFest 2005)
3. The Edge (GuitarFest 2005)
4. Truer Than Ever (GuitarFest 2005)
5. Duelling Waters
6. Into The Black
7. Broken Hero
8. Men And Machines
9. The Awakening
10. Behind The Catwalk (remixed)
11. Outsiders (retracked and remixed)
12. State Of Mind (new song)
13. Time To Believe (new song)

Added: September 26th 2006
Reviewer: John Larocque
Related Link: Tony Hernando Website
Hits: 2301
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by