Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Motorhead: Bomber (remaster)

To celebrate the band's 30 year career, Sanctuary Records is re-issuing expanded and remastered versions of some of their best albums. The two CD sets come with the original album remastered, along with a second CD that is loaded with bonus and unreleased tracks. The jewel cases are slip-cased and include full-color booklets that are packed with topical information on the release as well as photos and notes from the time of the album's release.

Bomber, released in 1979 would be an album that would line out more of the groundwork for what we could come to expect from this band fronted by Lemmy Kilminster who along with "Fast" Eddie Clarke and Philthy "Animal" Taylor. This was not a Metal band but scores of them would form under their influence and cite them as the true loudest band in the world. Some memorable tracks come from this release such as "Dead Men Tell No Tales" and of course the title track "Bomber". Those that know the bands history would be aware of the fact that the band used to travel with a giant Bomber as their stage prop and lighting rig. Some great photos of this imposing stage decoration are in the booklet as well. This album is known also for featuring the first and only song sung by Clarke, which falls to "Step Down". Overall this is a solid effort, but not as good as the predecessor Overkill nor would it hold as much impact on the future of Motorhead as Ace Of Spades would when it was released. The remaster of this release includes a second CD of B-sides which many of which were available before. Despite that reservation, these are incredible releases and should be a part of anyone's collection.

Bonus CD: Over The Top, Stone Dead Forever, Sharpshooter, Bomber, Step Down, Leaving Here, Stone Dead Forever, Dead Men Tell No Tales, Too Late Too Late, Step Down.

Track Listing

  1. Dead Men Tell No Tales
  2. Lawman
  3. Sweet Revenge
  4. Sharpshooter
  5. Poison
  6. Stone Dead Forever
  7. All The Aces
  8. Step Down
  9. Talking Head
  10. Bomber

Added: September 25th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Motorhead Website
Hits: 2780
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by