Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Time Symmetry: Fate in Grey

Time Symmetry has released a very impressive album in late 2005. Time Symmetry is a progressive-metal band, with no notable names from previous bands. Yet the singing of David Rubio is emotive, and recalls styles of James LaBrie (Dream Theater). The singing is definitely one of the highlights of this band. Overall, the band sounds similar to Symphony X, early Vanden Plas, and Time Machine.

Musically the band is very solid, especially for a first full length album release, and they sound like mature musicians. There is no blinding wizardry on guitar, nor keyboards, but not every progressive metal album needs shredding bliss either. To not sell them short, the musicians are talented, and at times show off some of their abilities. However, overall, the instruments are setup to support and enhance the mood of the song. Further, each song stands out on its own, and they have some distinct styles and moods.

This album also has good lyrics, which one can hope from a progressive band but is not always the case. Most of the songs are written by Rubio; however, the keyboardist, Jesus Franco, and the drummer, Alejandro Martinez, both contribute songs. One of the best cuts on the album is "Woman from Loneliness," which includes saxophone playing by Daniel Centeno, giving the song a cool jazz feel at times. Rabio's singing is at his best in this song, at times sounding like he is ready to start singing musicals. He follows that song with "Autumn" which is absolutely gorgeous. The last three tracks on the album, are three parts to the song 'Fate in Grey.' The last two tracks have some guest singing by a female vocalist, Mamen Castano

As good as Fate in Grey is, as beautiful as some of the songs are, one is left feeling like they are still standing. There are no songs on the album that will completely knock somebody off the feet. No songs that make somebody want to go on a rage to make sure that everybody is listening to this new, amazing band. If the band improves in some areas their next album may do just that. Rubio might become one of the better singers in metal. Be sure to check out the album ar, it's very well done, and definitely check out their Web site (, as it is one of the better designed sites out there in the metal community.

Track Listing
1. The Game
2. When the Voice is Gone
3. Cold Mountain Train
4. Woman from Loneliness
5. Autumn
6. Alone He Wanders
Fate in Grey:
7. The Portrait
8. Sibyl Vane
9. Naiad

Added: September 25th 2006
Reviewer: Scott Borre
Related Link: Time Symmetry Website
Hits: 2960
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Time Symmetry: Fate in Grey
Posted by Jesus Symmetry on 2006-10-07 11:45:22
My Score:

Thanks for your review. We really apreciatte your interest in our music! Thanks!!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by