Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blut Aus Nord: Mort

The soundtrack to your worst nightmare? The latest from France's Blut Aus Nord could possibly be just that. Mort, much like its predecessor The Work Which Transforms God is a dark, dissonant, and evil affair. Not so much a collection of songs as it is one long dark thematic landscape, Mort pulses along with bestial savagery and blackened emotion. This is pretty creepy stuff, with layers of guitars, droning vocals which sound like they are coming at you through a thick, dense forest, lazy drum beats, and plenty of spooky electronics. If you are expecting something along the lines of Dimmu Borgir or Immortal, think again, as Blut Aus Nord takes the early formula of Emperor, slows it down, and adds in lots more atmosphere and avant-garde mentality. Call them the Univers Zero of the black metal world if you will.

It's not accessible, it's not melodic, but it's certainly creative and unique. Chances are you've not heard anything like Mort before. Dig in, if you dare.

Track Listing
1) Ruins Of The Genesis Antiparticles
2) Dis-Harmonization Of All Visual Echoes
3) Fusion With The Zero
4) Samsaric Ocean
5) The Meditation Of The Ghost Samadhi
6) Le Cercle De Ceux Qui Pleurent
7) Alienation Of The Orphans

Added: September 15th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4612
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by