Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Steely Dan: The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection is just another in a line of many Steely Dan "greatest hits" sets that have been released over the years. Quite frankly, there's really no reason for this one, as it's virtually identical to most of the others with the exception of the last two tracks, "Cousin Dupree" and "Things I Miss the Most", which are recent songs recorded over the last few years. Otherwise you get all the band's greatest songs like "Do It Again", "Rikki Don't Lose That Number", "Reelin' In the Years", "Peg", and even the early smash "Dirty Work". However, two glaring omissions are the huge hit "Josie" and the classy yet mysterious "Aja". While this is a good set of sophisticated jazzy pop rock (let's face it, Steely Dan were always one of the most unique yet underrated bands of all time), unless you absolutely have to have the two recent tracks, seek out Show Biz Kids-The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980, a truly comprehensive 2CD set that covers all the basis that this collection does and more.

One nice touch here is that the booklet contains rare photos plus detailed track information on who played on each song, which is interesting reading for the rock historians, especially considering that Steely Dan (Donald Fagen & Walter Brecker) employed many hot session musicians over the years.

Track Listing
1. Do It Again
2. Dirty Work
3. Reelin' In The Years
4. Bodhisattva
5. My Old School
6. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
7. Black Friday
8. Bad Sneakers
9. Kid Charlemagne
10. Deacon Blues
11. Peg
12. F.M.
13. Hey Nineteen
14. Babylon Sisters
15. Cousin Dupree
16. Things I Miss The Most

Added: September 12th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Steely Dan Website
Hits: 2330
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by