Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sanders, Michael & One Tribe Nation: Servants of a Lesser God

Guitarist Michael Sanders & his One Tribe Nation release their very diverse CD,Servants of a Lesser God, an album that refuses to be labeled. Part Rock, part fusion, part funk and part Afro-Latin, this CD is packed full of just plain old fashion good music! This band is an eclectic mix of world-class musicians of different cultures formed to create a single musical community. Members of Eric Clapton's, Madonna's and Rod Stewart's band all make up the all-star cast on this album. Andy Vargas of Santana and other touring musicians of Pink, Black Eyed Peas, and The Goo Goo Dolls round out the One Tribe Nation, and they just flat out thump!

Michael Sanders' guitar playing ranges from Carlos Santana-ish Latin flavored lines, to Stevie Ray Vaughan injected blues runs to even Steve Morse fueled chromatic fireworks and Jazzy fusion licks. The guy can play and does it all with a style that still remain his own. Melodic fiery leads are what make the stand out up tempo track "One Trick Pony" shine. Latin rhythms, soul tinged grooves and even World Beat flavors make this CD a true one world community. Other highlights are "Underworld Circus Part 1", "Esoterica", "Beneath the Sun" and "Mijos Del Cielo".

Servants of a Lesser God is a true '70's throw back, feel good record. In an era when everything is very "cookie cutter" and the need for a hit single and a video are the most important things, it is great to come across a CD that breaks that mold. The '70's was an age when an artist could be that, an artist. Michael Sanders & One Tribe Nation is just that, artists. With danceable R&B beats to Spanish guitar styling's to Blues rockers, to very ethnic grooves, Servants of a Lesser God is a true bridge between classic musical influences and spun together with their own signature. This CD is a magnetic blend of great musicianship, a diverse and ethnical musical mix and is sure to be an ear and hip shaking pleasure.

Track Listing
  1. Waiting For Venus
  2. Esoterica
  3. One Trick Pony
  4. Beneath The Sun
  5. Sons Of The Sky
  6. Amigos Del Diablo
  7. Anantia Muscaria
  8. El Porto
  9. Underworld Circus Part 1
  10. Servants Of A Lesser God
  11. Hijos Del Cielo

Added: September 11th 2006
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Michael Sanders Website
Hits: 4122
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by