Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Judas Priest: Unleashed in the East (remaster)

Unleashed In The East would capture Judas Priest in the element that they seemed to rule over and this would be the concert stage. Recorded during one of the shows supporting the Hell Bent For Leather album, this release would feature a strong amount of material from that particular recording as well as earlier staple numbers . Fans of the band who owned this on CD when it originally came out will appreciate the 4 added tracks but should be aware that while from this time period, they do not seem to be from the same performance. Outside of the 5 HBFL tracks, the listener is treated to knock down versions of "Exciter" and "Diamonds & Rust", the blistering lead guitar work and stellar drumming behind Rob's banshee vocals made them two of the albums best tracks. I remembered being influenced as a young musician by this album's drumming which made Les Binks one of my favorite Hard Rock players at the time. Sadly this would be the last appearance in the band by Binks who would be replaced on the forthcoming album by Dave Holland. Binks gets a brief drum solo in "Starbreaker" which serves as a fitting closer to the chapter of the book he was a part of. As a whole I loved this album and remember wearing my vinyl release down to almost nothing and recall replacing my original copy at least once from either use or from someone failing to return it after borrowing it. To this day I don't remember the real reasoning behind it, but it could be the last one as I now seem to have a strict policy on my music loaning. The overall strength of the album make favorites very subjective to the particular listener and of course there are always those that dispute live recordings as to their total "authenticity", but even with obvious studio cleanups this is one of the best live Metal records to have ever been released.

Similar to the other editions in the Judas Priest remasters, this one features expanded artwork and bonus tracks but these inclusions are not the new unreleased track and live track but instead are the missing live tracks from the original album

Track Listing
  1. Exciter
  2. Running Wild
  3. Sinner
  4. The Ripper
  5. The Green Manalishi
  6. Diamonds And Rust
  7. Victim Of Changes
  8. Genocide
  9. Tyrant
  10. Rock Forever
  11. Delivering The Goods
  12. Hell Bent For Leather
  13. Starbreaker

Added: September 9th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Judas Priest Website
Hits: 2502
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by