Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Satyricon: Volcano

Statistics and record sales show very vividly the increase in popularity of Black Metal in countries far away from the music's land of origin. Attendance at the shows, especially in America illustrates this as a trend with no sign of an end. The bands are numerous and at times not all will be as good as the others but one of the best and most innovative of them all is Satryicon. Led by Satyr and completed by Frost, this two man team is a bringer of destruction and musical proficiency that more bands should take note of. The band was started by Satyr in 1993 with the demo The Forest Is My Throne and has grown musically and creatively since the group's inception. On the albums Satyr handles vocals, guitars and keyboards while the former Gorgoroth skin basher is left in charge of kit destruction very honestly this simple formula works when it comes right down to it. Songs like "Repined Bastard Nation" and "Fuel For Hatred" are killer numbers but instead of being dizzying displays of riffs over and over there is a stronger level of music going on in the songs. I feel this is the highest aspect of Satryicons appeal, as instead of following standards and predictability, they instead kick it up a notch by being a little more on the creative side. This process allows the band to better adapt to the ever-changing wave of musical styles. The past couple of years have shown this to be the smarter practice as bands like Opeth, Hypocrisy and Dimmu Borgir prove on a regular basis. In addition to the music, this enhanced CD includes the video for "Fuel For Hatred" which is pretty good. It's essentially a performance piece more than a stylish video. The booklet is ripe with lyrics to the tracks as well as some black and white photographs that add to the mood. There is some explicit language present but this remains a must investigate band for those that are interested in bands that choose to defy convention instead of remain stagnant.

Track Listing
  1. With Ravenous Hunger
  2. Angstridden
  3. Fuel For Hatred
  4. Suffering The Tyrants
  5. Possessed
  6. Repined Bastard Nation
  7. Mental Mercury
  8. Black Lava

Added: September 1st 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Satyricon Website
Hits: 3513
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by