Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Napalm Death: Smear Campaign

It's now been two decades since Napalm Death hit the metal scene and practically invented grindcore, the brutal mix of technical hardcore and death metal complete with over-the-top extreme lyrical content. Just to show their fans that they have no intentions of compromising their music one bit, here comes their latest release Smear Campaign, another in a long line of non-stop examples of brutality and relentless aggressive & violent metal. The band continues their anti-war opinions here, as well as their take on just about every relevant social topic going on in the world today. Musically speaking, this is pure relentless stuff here, which should come as no surprise to long time fans of the band. Tracks like "Puritanical Punishment Beating", "When All is Said and Done", and "Freedom is the Wage of Sin" contain plenty of furious & technical guitar riffs from Mitch Harris, crazed blast beats from drummer Danny Herrera, and angry growls from Barney himself, Mark Greenway. Together with bassist Shane Embury, Napalm Death pummel the listener from start to finish here (if you've never been pummeled by a metal band before, give a listen to "Short-Lived" and prepared to me crushed to death), which for some might get a little tiresome. That's the main problem with Smear Campaign, or any Napalm Death album for that matter. These guys go 100 miles an hour all the time, and there's just no break from their relentless attack, which for some won't be an issue, but if you like your metal with a little bit of variety, be advised that this latest from Napalm Death will be a near-fatal assault on your eardrums, with every intent on pounding you into submission.

Track Listing
1) Weltscmerz
2) Sink Fast, Let Go
3) Fatalist
4) Puritanical Punishment Beating
5) When All Is Said and Done
6) Freedom is the Wage of Sin
7) In Deference
8) Short-Lived
9) Identity Crisis
10) Shattered Existence
11) Eyes Right Out
12) Warped Beyond Logic
13) Rabid Wolves (For Christ)
14) Deaf and Dumbstruck (Intelligent Design)
15) Persona Non Grata
16) Smear Campaign

Added: August 21st 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Napalm Death Website
Hits: 6419
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by