Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Poison: Open Up And Say Ahh (remaster)

To celebrate the bands 20th Anniversary Poison released a rousing collection of their greatest hits with The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock. A tour soon followed and now the party continues with the release of their first three albums in remastered format. Deluxe packaging and artwork as well as previously unreleased tracks are included for the listener to enjoy as well.

Poison's 1988 follow-up found the band a lot more polished and taking a better grasp of the genre they were slowly starting to command. Since the money was now very visibly present in their life the production on the second album was cleaner and stood out more. The band also took to having bombastic shows by the look of them they were clearly pulling a lot of tricks out of the hat worn by legends and influences KISS. The sound was also KISS-like when it came down to tracks like "Nothin' But A Good Time". The second album also had a killer track in "Fallen Angel", whose companion video was just as memorable as it showed just how hard life in Hollywood could be for someone unprepared for what's out there in any big city. The big chorus of the track made this a big radio hit but nothing would top "Every Rose Has Its Thorn", the soft ballad becoming one of the bands biggest hits in their entire career. MTV had a hand in this albums success as well, promoting the songs listed above as well as "Your Mama Don't Dance", which I felt was a dreadful version but still was all over the place thanks to the video network. Much of the premise of the band was the same here but overall they were a little more seasoned by now which made it sound a whole lot better.

The bonus tracks on this release both win and lose me as "Living For The Minute" is a knock down Rock track but then I am lost in their inclusion of a 10 minute interview segment. Its nice to give people that but on a remastered CD its more about showcasing unreleased music and demos more than discussions from the time. Check this one out and pass along your original copy to some budding music fan.

Track Listing
  1. Love On The Rocks
  2. Nothin' But A Good Time
  3. Back To The Rocking Horse
  4. Good Love
  5. Tearing Down The Walls
  6. Look But You Cant Touch
  7. Fallen Angel
  8. Every Rose Has Its Thorn
  9. Your Mama Don't Dance
  10. Bad To Be Good
  11. Living For The Minute bonus
  12. Interview Track - bonus

Added: August 18th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Poison Website
Hits: 2419
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by