Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Poison: Flesh & Blood (remaster)

To celebrate the bands 20th Anniversary Poison released a rousing collection of their greatest hits with The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock. A tour soon followed and now the party continues with the release of their first three albums in remastered format. Deluxe packaging and artwork as well as previously unreleased tracks are included for the listener to enjoy as well.

By now if you were not a Poison fan there was no chance that you would have grabbed this album and despite my reservations on one or two songs there is a lot of great music on this one. "Valley Of Lost Souls" is pretty good but "Ride The Wind" and "Let It Play" are just among the most stand out and mature tracks that the band had released thus far. The ballads were once again present in "Life Goes On" and "Something To Believe In", but the latter had much more of an impact as the song was written after a close personal friend of the band members had died. "Sacrifice" was also a worthy track but it seemed the most radio and video play would go to "Unskinny Bop", a ridiculous yet catchy number that to this day I still have no idea what they were talking about. The year for this album was 1991 and like most bands Poison also had the in-fighting and abuse problems that come with being in a traveling Rock band. Music was also changing as the Seattle sound was looking slowly over the horizon and ready to stake claim on the young audiences in every city. Sadly, this in-fighting led to a knock down brawl between C.C. and Michaels who had just performed on an MTV Awards show. Moments after the fracas, the guitarist left the band and would not return for a number of years and albums later.

This is a good release to check out more for its music than the other two and is especially recommended for the casual fan that might be put off a little by the level of pomp and haircumstance that the earlier releases were loaded with.

Track Listing
  1. Strange Days Of Uncle Jack
  2. Valley Of Lost Souls
  3. (Flesh & Blood) Sacrifice
  4. Swampjuice (Soul-O)
  5. Unskinny Bop
  6. Let It Play
  7. Life Goes On
  8. Come Hell Of High Water
  9. Ride The Wind
  10. Don't Give Up An Inch
  11. Something To Believe In
  12. Ball And Chain
  13. Life Loves A Tragedy
  14. Poor Boy Blues
  15. Something To Believe In acoustic
  16. God Save The Queen instrumental demo

Added: August 18th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Poison Website
Hits: 3522
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by