Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hallows Eve: History Of Terror

Hallow's Eve was a Thrash Metal band that back in 1985 made a fairly decent impact on the genre but for some reason did not receive the level of acclaim that was deserved of them. Faster and harder than some of their peers the band used Punk elements together with Thrash for maximum effect but they would still be overshadowed by the Slayer's and Anthrax's when it came down to it. It would not be the first time this occurred and thanks to the people at Metal Blade Records, fans of the group or those who only heard the name now get to enjoy all three of the bands albums in remastered form. On top of this you also get a ton of bonus demo and live recordings that will not be found anywhere else. The 4 disk boxed set does the job right by including a DVD as the fourth disk. Similar to the Fates Warning re-issue of "Awaken The Guardian", this album includes not one show but instead four different performances from such venues as The Chance, Swizzles and The Rock Capitol Of Brooklyn L'Amour. Unfortunately the sonic level on a lot of these live performances is less than stellar but the idea is to take it for what it is and that is as footage that you would never get otherwise. It's a daunting collection for the casual listener but the perfect release for those Metal Music historians who can especially use this in comparisons on how the genre evolved over time. Hallow's Eve probably influenced a lot more bands than give them the credit for doing so as it was sheer brutality at a time where this aspect of Metal was still growing into existence. Packaged in a slipcase the release includes booklets that line out the bands beginnings and gives the listener a better insight into the time period that this all happened in music. They are loaded with lyrics and photos from the era. This is an incredible set that is a worthwhile purchase for any Metal head to buy, as quite honestly even though I myself was not as aware of the band I found this listen on the educational side as far as Thrash Metal's earliest adventurers were concerned.

A Four Disk Set is difficult to absorb but here is the rundown for the readership: CD1: "Tales Of Terror" & "Death And Insanity" (both remastered) along with a couple of rehearsals from 1984. CD2: "Monument" (remastered), 1st Demo "Tales Of Terror", rehearsals from 1984. CD3: Four live performances including CBGB's NYC, Essex MD, Swizzles in PA, Montreal Palladium. DVD1 (disk 4) Live video from L'Amours, Middletown, Swizzles and The Chance Poughkeepsie NY.

Song Listing (CD1):
1. Plunging To Megadeath
2. Outer Limits
3. Horrorshow
4. Mansion
5. There Are Not Rules
6. Valley Of The Dolls
7. Metal Merchants
8. Hallows Eve
9. Death And Insanity
10. Goblet Of Gore
11. Leathal Tendencies
12. Obituary
13. Plea Of The Aged
14. Suicide Hallows Eve
15. D.I.E. (Death In Effect)
16. Attack Of The Iguana
17. Nefarious
18. Nobody Lives Forever
19. Death And Insanity (reprise)
20. Mansion
21. Metal Prisoners

Added: August 18th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Metal Blade Records
Hits: 3854
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Hallows Eve: History Of Terror
Posted by Hugh Dark on 2006-11-15 13:14:10
My Score:

I agree that this is a band that did not get the credit that they have deserved. If one listens to Suicide on Death and Insanity,You can hear the origins of the blast-beat and the pre-arrival of death metal! S. Andeson's vocals were also doing the pattened death growl at times throughout their first two recordings. When they made it to their 3rd release things started to fall apart. The band had signed a huge record deal for a total of 8 albums and Tommy was doing some A&R work for the label as well, I do believe. In essence, the label owned the name and creative rights to the band and it sucked the life out of them. Monument has a very sterilized sound and is the only album they delivered under their big record deal. In fact, it's sound reminds me of Metallica's Justice in may ways! Anyway, the band was starting to split apart and the constant rotation of drummers was hurting them as well. One day Stacey hopped a bus and went home and that effectively finished the band. Well, a little history for those who care, but do not miss this release. I believe that Hallows Eve still owed Metal Blade around 7 albums and this may be their way of finishing the deal, but it is an excellent deal for anyone. Best release of 2006!!!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by