Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ABSU: Mythological Occult Metal 1991-2001

ABSU is a black/ thrash metal band formed based out of Texas which was formed back in 1991 by guitarists Equitant and Shaftiel. The group was a quartet for a few years before reducing themselves down to a trio with drummer and vocalist Proscriptor in the early 90's. Mythological Occult Metal is a great 2 CD set retrospective of the group, released by Osmose Productions and distributed in North America by The End Records.

What you get on this retrospective is a bit of everything style wise. The earlier material when the band was a quartet featured Shaftiel's vocals which for the most part were nothing more than a guttural growl and musically the band was more in the Cannibal Corpse vein. Once Proscriptor took over the mic duties with his considerably evil sounding vocal abilities the band slowly expanded their sound, incorporating other instruments and began to sound more like a black metal outfit. Disc 1 finds the band offering up some great rarities and alternate versions of early material including various 7" EP's from different stages of the groups career. The Hallstattian Swords EP which closes out disc 1 is of primary interest as the three tracks taken from it feature only synthesizers and effects so these songs are quite different.

Disc 2 provides even more bang for the buck kicking off with four cover tracks taken from various tribute CD's which the band contributed to over the years. You get crushing covers of songs originally done by Mayhem, Possessed, Iron Maiden and Destruction. Four live tracks and two rehearsals close off the 2nd disc on equally high note. With ABSU currently on hold, Equitant and Proscriptor have put together this very nicely packaged overview of some of the bands more memorable musical highlights; not to mention a very detailed booklet with lots of information and photos of the various lineups from over the years. Mythological Occult Metal is a great introduction for new fans such as myself who may have not been familiar with the bands past; as well it offers up some great treats for the already initiated.

Track Listing Disc 1
1) The Gold Torques of Ulaid
2) Never Blow Out The Eastern Candle
3) Stone of Destiny
4) Immortal Sorcery
5) Sumerian Sands (The Silence)
6) Disembodied
7) ..And Shineth unto the Cold Cometh..including Prelusion to Cythraul
8) Akhera Goiti –Akhera Beti (One Black Opalith for Tomorrow)
9) Reliquaie Celticae
10) The Great Battle Moving From Ideal to Actual
11) Old Tombs at Hochdorf

Disc 2
1) Deathcrush including Silvester Anfang
2) Swing of the Axe
3) Transylvania
4) Bestial Invasion
5) The Winter Zephyr (..Within Kingdoms of Mist)
6) Highland Tyrant Attack
7) The Thirce Is Greatest To Ninnigal
8) The Coming Of War
9) Book of Splendour
10) Tasseomancy

Added: August 9th 2006
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Osmose Productions
Hits: 2674
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by