Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lacrimas Profundere: Filthy Notes For Frozen Hearts

Lacrimas Profundere vocalist Christopher Nikolas describes his bands sound as "Rock 'N Sad" music and while that statement may be partially true it only gives the listener a fraction of an idea of what this sextet are truly capable of. Their sound at times does appear to be taken right out of the annals of Goth history circa The Sisters of Mercy in their heyday and Nikolas's voice does bear more than a passing resemblance to Peter Steele of Type O Negative. However where Type O Negative's songs tend to be mostly long drawn out pieces of self indulgence, Lacrimas Profundere wisely inject their Goth and gloom influences into creating some of the most melodic and radio friendly material to be heard in this genre in a long time.

Filthy Notes For Frozen Hearts takes no prisoners right from the onset as the listener is thrust headlong into the bands underworld via the hard, driving opener "My Velvet Darkness" which sounds like it could have been lifted directly off of the Sisters' 1987 release Floodland. As the song reaches it's conclusion there's no time for a break as it segues immediately into the lead off single "Again It's Over" which is another tailor made track with maximum radio potential. The twin rhythmic attack of guitarists Tony and Oliver Nikolas (Christopher's brother) drive this infectious song directly into your sub conscious with hooks a plenty (The video for this song is tacked on at the end of the disc). What also makes Filthy Notes For Frozen Hearts appealing is the fact that they definitely know how to add another dimension to their sound with some fantastic, atmospheric keyboard work and electronics on such tracks as "No Dear Hearts", "To Love Her On Knees" and the hauntingly beautiful "Sad Theme For A Marriage". Equally as haunting and moody is the CD's final cut, the 6 minute epic "My Mescaline". Lacrimas Profundere have been around for over 10 years and the bands experience at crafting tight, well written songs is really on display on this CD and perhaps now the rest of the world will finally latch onto these guys and give them the success they deserve. Give your CD player a taste of Lacrimas Profundere, you probably wont get it back anytime soon, it's that good.

Track Listing
1) My Velvet Darkness
2) Again It's Over
3) Not To Stay
4) No Dear Hearts
5) Short Glance
6) Filthy Notes
7) Sweet Caroline
8) An Irresistible Fault
9) To Love Her On Knees
10) Sad Theme For A Marriage
11) Should
12) My Mescaline
13) Again It's Over (Video)

Added: August 6th 2006
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Lacrimas Profundere Website
Hits: 3445
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by