Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Octavia Sperati: Winter Enclosure

Octavia Sperati does not come off at the typical signing to Candlelight Records (primarily known and appreciated for their bringing scores of Black and Death Metal to the hungry legions of fans) and this is a good thing. Remembering their demo CD, I felt that OS was more of a Melodic Doom, or Gothic Hard Rock ensemble than anything, and this feel comes across strong on all the songs present on this debut release. The large fan base of Metal bands that are fronted by females will appreciate the addition of this band; for while the group has this dynamic they also have a mostly female membership and offer you a level of difference not found in the Gothic Symphonic outfits. No epic orchestras are on this album but instead trudging doom-laden riffs fill the tracks along with understandable yet intense vocal parts. Those worried about Nightwish or Within Temptations standings need not worry about this band replacing them - but instead enhancing the female rock ethic that is being established. Starting their unique brand of Gloom Metal is "Lifelines Of Depths" which was also a favorite track of mine from the bands demo CD. The band was able to deliver many of the tracks from this demo for those that have interest in them but never were able to own a copy and as a result to don't miss out on any of their material that got them the recording deal. Too many artists are signed and you never hear of their beginning tracks and while this might make a wonderful boxed set in the future, it needs to be issued to fans when it is most relevant and important to building the fan base.

The group is made up of Silje (vocals), Tone (keyboards), Bodil (guitar), Gyri (guitar), Trine (bass) and Kikken (drums) and despite some who feel the women might not deliver, let me inform you that Octavia Sperati are indeed very Heavy and make no sign of weakness. Every player is talented on their instrument and defies any stereotype that might hit them. Despite my overall enjoyment of the music on the CD, I will have to inform you that it does keep one steady tempo and dynamic. It does not push any over the top limits and holds a particular feel. I believe this is the decision of the band and is their particular chosen style so it could have been done on purpose. There are moments in numbers like Future Is" that have a speedy mid-section, but there is little else like that on the remainder of the CD. It is not a bad album if Doom and Gothic is your cup of tea. Check it out.

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Lifelines Of Depths
3. Soundless
4. Icebound
5. Hymn
6. Hunting Eyes
7. Future Is
8. Below Zero
9. Wasted On The Living
10. Without Air (Before)
11. Without Air (After)

Added: July 22nd 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2365
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by