Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tears: Emptiness

Some demos we receive here at the Sea make for laborious listening. A few, however, leave us wanting more. Such is the case with Emptiness, a four-track, 11-minute disc from the Greek band Tears. Recorded between 2003 and 2005, these songs fluctuate between hard rock (the title track) and Gothic metal ("I Can't Forgive What Both You've Done"), connected by an undercurrent of despair that is reflected in the lyrics and amateur but effective packaging. "I Promise You" falls somewhere in between the title cut and the grammatically awkward cut, and the 30-second "Outro" is hardly necessary. Nevertheless, dynamic vocal arrangements often echo Zak Stevens-era Savatage, especially on the title track, and the songwriting is unpredictable. But much like Tears' first demo, Falling Certainty, Emptiness needs a strong producer to give the band the sound and better direction it richly deserves.

Track Listing:
1) Emptiness
2) I Promise You
3) I Can't Forgive What Both You've Done
4) Outro

Added: July 19th 2006
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Tears Web Site
Hits: 2458
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by