Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eldopa: The Complete Recordings

Formed in the mid-1990's, Oakland's Eldopa set out to fuse the manic intensity of hardcore with the brutal power of extreme metal. The Complete Recordings culls their 1332 album, as well as various live, single, and demo tracks for a comprehensive look at the band's career. After the breakup of the band, the members went their separate ways and now reside in such groups as Watch Them Die and Kalas.

Bassist Andy Branton, guitarist/vocalist Greg Valencia, guitarist/vocalist Brian Ward, and drummer Sean Tyler certainly knew how to churn out meaty riffs that at time bordered on both doom and punk, while frantic rhythms flailed about and the dual vocals of Valencia & Ward had the ability to scare the paint off any house. Many of the songs here are fairly short, but the best are the longer, more doom laden pieces like "The Burning" and "1332", each containing plenty of thunderous guitar dirges and screaming vocals. Fans of intense hardcore with plenty of breakdowns will drool over the manic sounds of "Clawing at the Walls", a song that also features plenty of metal moments as well.

While many of the tunes are duplicated here in demo and live formats, this is still a pretty brutal collection of a short lived band that definitely had some potential.

Track Listing
1) 1332
2) Slave
3) Headache
4) Wrong End
5) The Burning
6) Decomposing
7) Clawing at the Walls
8) Infected
9) The Calm
10) Ruined
11) Someone Saw God
12) Dormant
13) Skinless
14) Ruined
15) Headache
16) Bloody Knuckles
17) Someone Saw God-demo
18) Decomposing-demo
19) Ed-demo
20) Repercussion-demo
21) Skinless-live
22) Repercussion-live
23) Slave-live
24) Dormant-live
25) Someone Saw God-demo
26) The Calm-demo

Added: August 28th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Tee Pee Records
Hits: 2708
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Eldopa: The Complete Recordings
Posted by Ken Pierce, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-08-28 12:57:23
My Score:

Formed in 1995, Eldopa was a band that aimed to infuse Heavy Metal riffs alongside a true Hardcore vibe that was a little purer than some of their peers had ever hoped to deliver. The result worked to some effect and the band was more Metal than Hardcore and they also offered some level of Doom and Melodic riffs that are not often seen in most of the Hardcore bands. The group was comprised of Andy Branton (bass), Greg Valencia (vocals, guitar), Brian Ward (vocals, guitar), and Sean Tyler (drums) and their debut effort entitled "1332" was originally released on an Oakland based label called East Bay Menace Records. Had they remained together longer than past 1998 their tasty riffing might have met with a larger level of success considering how some of the Metal genres evolved. The influx of Grindcore and Thrashcore groups that came about around 2001-2002 would have probably welcomed these guys into their ranks. Thanks to Tee Pee Records the fans of the band and even the curious are able to own the complete recordings that were unleashed upon the world. It captures their entire debut release "1332" as well as a number of live recordings and demo tracks which are sure to please the archivist fan. Lyrics are provided for the debut album in the included fold-out booklet.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by